mermaids

Good Karma

Posted on: 12 August, 05

I had bought this fabric to make a skirt for myself. However, my boys fell in love with it when they saw me pre-washing it. After agreeing to make a shirt for each of them, I discovered there wasn’t quite enough fabric. C, being the generous soul that he is, immediately suggested that I make the shirt for J with the hope that he might get it as a hand me down. When cutting out J’s shirt, I was so careful as to not waste a centimeter of fabric….just in case.
The leftovers sat on my cutting table for days. I continued to rearrange the pieces, determined to get another shirt. At last it worked! the underside of the collar is seamed in the middle. C is quite pleased with his shirt and I am thrilled that his generosity was rewarded.
I used Ottobre Summer ’04 #17 for C’s shirt and Ottobre Spring ’03 #30 for J’s shirt. The biggest difference between the two shirts is the collar application. J’s has a collar band and C’s does not. I prefer collar bands, but that is just my pickiness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

