mermaids

Sweet Dreams

Posted on: 30 May, 06

For several weeks, I have awakened in the wee hours of the morning. I manage to almost fall asleep again about 30 minutes before I have to get up. The sleep deprivation is taking a toll on me. This morning, I was up at 2:30 a.m. Today, I could have sooooo easily fallen asleep while proctoring a test. The room was absolutely silent…only one student testing with two adults proctoring. I was trying to sit very still in a chair so as to not distract the student but my eyelids were getting very, very heavy. The room was too small to get up and walk around. I was thinking up all sorts of mental games to help me stay awake. Proctors are not allowed to read during this particular test. We can only sit and watch the students. However, in this case, reading might have made me even sleepier.

My plan for tonight started with stopping caffeine intake early in the day. In the good old days, I could drink a soda right before bed and sleep with no problems. I will do some light reading while sipping a hot cocoa shortly before bed. I know….hot cocoa when it’s 90 degrees outside sounds a little crazy, but dh has the air conditioner set on arctic blast. I don’t want to take any “sleep aids” because they make me sluggish in the morning. I need sleep desperately.

1 Response to "Sweet Dreams"

Teri,

I just today saw your website and I am offering advice about your sleeping problem if you haven’t already found the solution. This is from someone who has suffered with chronic insomnia for several years including waking up in the middle of the night. This is most likely caused by low estrogen and progesterone levels as is such in my case. You may want to look for books on natural (bioidentical) hormone therapy. If you are interested in knowing more about this, please feel free to contact me—cgsews@aol.com.

Charlotte Griffin

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

