mermaids

Who Wears Short Shorts?

Posted on: 14 July, 06

….well, not my boys! They like their shorts long…really long. At least I don’t have to worry about their knees getting sunburned. 🙂 Anyway, here are a couple of photos of some “long shorts” I made recently. They must like them because both boys keep asking what they can do to help me so I have more time to sew for them.

The shorts are basically Ottobre, of course. However, since there are not many Ottobre patterns in my boys’ sizes, I sort of transplant the design features I like to a basic pattern that fits them. Here is a live action shot of J doing Dance Dance Revolution. I was trying to get a shot of the bellows pocket.

Since C is currently fascinated with snail biology, I put a small embroidery on the lower leg that is sort of an abstract of a snail.  It is really just a swirl with some small lines radiating out.  It is a quick little touch that gives the shorts a more RTW look.  The legs really are the same length.  He’s just standing awkwardly.  

And now, for a back view.  The pattern called for curved topstitching on the pockets, but I liked sharp angles better. 

2 Responses to "Who Wears Short Shorts?"

i wish ottobre had existed when i was a teenager!

they are great and i’m so glad your boys appreciate your sewing :o)

Hi teri,
Excellent sewing work here. Very nicely done!
Happy sewing,
Lisa (from the OD list)

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

