mermaids

It’s a Wrap

Posted on: 24 July, 06

What an easy dress to sew!  I suspect it shall also be an easy dress to wear.  DH’s recent trip to Chicago included a visit to Vogue Fabrics.  He walked around the store describing fabrics to me over the cell phone.  Long distance….the next best thing to being there.  When he described this fabric, I immediately thought of Kwik Sew 3408.  When I actually saw it, I could not wait to get started.  It is a super soft and ultimately stretchy rayon knit.  Since DH is generous when purchasing yardage, there was enough to make the long sleeve version.  As much as I wanted to wear it right now, rational thinking prevailed.  It will be a great dress for the autumn.
Wrap style tops and dress have a tendency to fall open if there is not enough to wrap around….if you know what I mean….  🙂  This pattern uses an interfaced facing along the front edges which give it more structure.  The neckline is also not so plunging as to expose too much.
I like it so much, I have cut out another one that will be a sleeveless version.  Details to follow…..

3 Responses to "It’s a Wrap"

What a cute dress, and the fabric looks so comfy. Great Job.
Jeannine

[…] here, and definitely swank compared to where I usually eat. I arrive at the restaurant wearing my wrap dress, which has now been dubbed “the magic dress.” Once again that dress garnered me more […]

Hi, I really like this pattern–and the dress. What a wonderful husband you have.

Mariposa

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

