mermaids

With a Twist

Posted on: 4 September, 06

Apparently I prefer a twist of lime rather than a twist top.  On a whim (and thanks to a pattern sale), I decided to give the much touted “twist top” a try.  My instincts said this would not work but sometimes we need to step outside our comfort zones.  So, a $2 pattern, less than a yard of fabric, and a rainy afternoon was all I had at stake.  Yes, my instincts were right.  This is not a good look for me.  Honestly, I think there are only a very few women who can pull off this look.  If your bust is small, like mine, the knot in the middle creates the illusion of a third breast.  Not a good look.  If your bust is large, this top draws way too much attention to an already pronounced part of your anatomy.  The knot in the middle ends up looking like it is about to explode at any minute.  A perilous look, at best.  The twist top is yet another example of a fashion trend that looks good on about 1% of the population, but is worn by about 75% of the population.  Ladies, let’s all look in the mirror and be really honest.  Cute on the hanger or in the fashion pages does not always mean “cute on my body.”

I have no regrets.  This top will be donated to the local thrift shop.  It was worth a try.  Trying new things is how we learn. I have a few other ideas bouncing around in my head.  I feel confident that one of them will work out.

2 Responses to "With a Twist"

lol i love reading your posts! you write so well :o)

What a lovely thing to say!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

