mermaids

Under the Sea

Posted on: 24 September, 06

The art teacher and I share an affection for seahorses. I knew I had been saving this piece of fabric for a reason! I used Butterick 4432, which is now, sadly, out of print. Luckily, I scored a copy off eBay for only $3, including shipping. It is a simple pattern, but there is something endearing about it. This is the first time I have not used an Ottobre pattern for children’s wear in a very long time. This pattern sewed up in no time at all. Of course, I had to make the matching bloomers!

The art teacher was happy to receive a baby gift that wasn’t pastel pink and in a larger size. I made it big enough that it should fit next summer. Friday was Ms V’s last day at school. C will miss her terribly. Now we must all just sit and wait for Miss L to make her grand entrance.

4 Responses to "Under the Sea"

oh how sweet! great job!

That is just so cute! I love making children’s clothers, though I have no children. Fitting isn’t so much an issue and I can play with designs and techniques I might not do in my own clothing. Thanks for sharing!

Kim in Phoenix, AZ

Your version is adorable. I posted my version on CM. You don’t say what fabric you used. I was thinking it would be cute in knit even though it does not list knit fabrics on the pattern.
You do darling work! Love the Holloween shirt too.

The fabric is called a “corded cotton” by Painting Red Rhinos. I picked up through a co-op years ago. I agree that a knit also would work well with this pattern. If I used a knit, I would probably not line the bodice…just use FOE to finish the edges.
Thank you for the lovely compliments!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

