mermaids

Nice to be Needed

Posted on: 19 October, 06

Today, I was offered a job. It would be an interesting position, doing something I really enjoy. If it were more part time, I would not think twice about it. I am not sure I want to make such a large time commitment at this point in my life. Do I want to go back to work?

It is lovely to be asked, but that is also dangerous for me. I have a difficult time saying “no.” If there is a problem that I can fix, I can’t simply walk away. Honestly, it is nice to be needed.

I do manage to stay quite busy with volunteer work, subbing, and projects around the house. However, much of what a stay at home mom does is insanely boring. How interesting can it be to unload the dishwasher for the 50 millionth time? The boys are getting older and needing me less. With both children in middle school, I have more time on my hands…. but do I have “that” much time on my hands? Will I miss my freedom? I do so love having the freedom to do as little or as much as I want on any given day.

DH said it is up to me, which is a lovely sentiment, but not very helpful in the decision making process.

1 Response to "Nice to be Needed"

You know, you could take some WONDERFUL family trips with the money you’d make. *shrugs* Memories that will last forever…

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

