mermaids

Can’t Leave Well Enough Alone

Posted on: 2 November, 06

This top started with the basic tee pattern from Ottobre Woman. Not wanting a closest full of basic tees, I had to embellish. I think the stripes give it a sportier look without looking like I am headed to the gym. The fabric is a wonderful, soft knit recently purchased at a local fabric, which happens to be going out of business. The green is a little more washed out than I would usually wear. Having the black neckband right next to my face works better. It is an incredibly comfortable top that will be worn often this winter.

The black is inset, not appliqued. I decided how wide i wanted the stripe and took a portion of that off the back and front pieces. The sleeve was set in “in the round.” If I do this pattern again, I will sew the sleeves in flat. I would probably join the front & back at the shoulders, then sew on the green portion of the sleeve. Next, I would join the sleeve strip to the body stripe, then do the side seams. This might make it a bit easier to get the colors to line up probably. Besides, setting in a sleeve on knit just seems weird to me.

The boys really like this top and have requested a more masculine version. It would be a great way to use some scraps!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

