mermaids

NaNoWriMo

Posted on: 2 December, 06

In honor of National Novel Writing Month, I have posted every day for the last thirty days. Ok, so it’s not a novel. Posting consistently for thirty days was a challenge. First and foremost, my life is not that interesting. We have a made an effort to keep drama at a minimum. We don’t have the energy to deal with chaos on a daily basis. Enough drama shows up on doorstep without us inviting more.

Second, I am over programmed in matters of confidentiality. When I worked in the financial industry, I was not allowed to discuss my work. Now, with teaching, I am also not allowed to discuss my work. Even if I had not signed confidentiality agreements, I would not discuss other people’s children. I do not want people talking about my children. It only seems fair that I don’t talk about other people’s children. Be nice to teachers. They are keepers of your children’s secrets, hopes and fears.

Lastly, I do not feel I have the right to splay my own family’s foibles for all to see. This blog is not that popular, but I have no idea who reads it. There are other bloggers who have a wide readership and have made money by writing about their families. I read those blogs and enjoy them very much. However, I don’t feel comfortable exposing my family that way. I am not passing judgment. It’s just not right for me.

Posting for thirty days was an interesting exercise for me, perhaps not for the readers. We will now return to our regular schedule. Thanks for putting up with me. 🙂

Tags:

1 Response to "NaNoWriMo"

So you did this, eh: http://www.fussy.org/nablopomo.html

And the ‘personal’ stuff is why most of my posts are friends-locked. And I understand about not being able to write about your work. Most times, it’s better not to…

SO which mommy-blogs to you like to read?

reply to Busyme: I had not heard of NaBloPoMo. Very cool! indygoddess is the one who prompted me to post every day in November. As for the mommy-blogs, dooce.com is the only one I read on a somewhat regular basis. I read my LJ friends page every day, sometimes more than once a day. 🙂 I have stumbled across other mommy-blogs thru various links. However, I try to keep my computer time to a reasonable amount so I try to not get too wrapped into too many websites.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

