mermaids

Not Your Brother’s Sweatshirt

Posted on: 21 December, 06

Sweatshirts are one of my favorite things to wear in the winter. So toasty warm and comfortable, but oh so lacking in style. I wanted a sweatshirt that was a bit more feminine and not so sloppy. The curved seams of Kwik Sew 3452 give the shirt a definite feminine shape. The raglan sleeves make it comfortable to wear. The fabric is yummy soft sweatshirt fleece that has been aging nicely in my closet.
I shortened the length an inch and a half. After wearing it for a morning, I might take off another inch and a half because it wants to bunch up around the middle creating some unsightly rolls. Next time, I will not follow the pattern directions for inserting the zip. The directions have you construct just about the entire shirt before adding the zipper. In the future, I will partially attach the collar to the front panel, insert the zip, then finish constructing the top.
This pattern could also easily be altered to my favorite v-neck style or a crew neck. It sews up so quickly! From tracing to sniping the finally threads was less than two hours. Now that it is traced and I know to do the zipper differently, I could finish one of these in less than an hour. I would like to replace all of my old boxy sweatshirts with more stylish versions.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

