mermaids

Last Minute Top

Posted on: 24 December, 06

I finally took a photo of the last minute top I made for the neighborhood holiday party. With the outdoor temperature hovering around 75 degrees, a snuggly sweater was out of the question. Since I procrastinated until the last minute, fast sewing was the order of the day. I loved the neckline of the Christine Jonson Shirred Top, but did not have the right fabric for all that shirring. It is sort of a boat neck, which I find much more flattering than a plain round neck. However, I did have a quirky piece of fabric that needed a very simple pattern. Eliminating all the shirring details left me with a simple pattern and a great neckline. The fabric is a puckered knit from Walmart. The top cost less than $1. This was the perfect opportunity to test the fit of this pattern with out sacrificing lots of fabric. As it turns out, the fit is great and I have a very wearable muslin.

The party was great fun. Even though my key lime dessert melted a bit in the heat, it was quite tasty. There were lots of good munchies and interesting conversation. If I were smart, I would actually start on something to wear to the New Year’s Eve party. But what’s the rush, I have an entire *week* to get that together. 😉

1 Response to "Last Minute Top"

Thanks for pointing this out, it does make a wonderful top.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

