mermaids

2 in 1 Wrap Top

Posted on: 8 March, 07

It feels good to post a pretty photo again. The fabric was purchased a few years ago from Wazoodle with the idea of making a twin set. I laid out the fabric a few times, but was concerned about all the horizontal lines. It would have been fine as a twin set, but nothing special. As soon as I saw the “2 in 1wrap around top” in Ottobre Woman Spring 2007, I knew this was the right pattern for this fabric. I like that the wrap panels put the stripes on the slight angle. Fortunately, the fabric had enough 4 way stretch that the bindings could be cut on the cross grain. It breaks up all the horizontal stripes and accentuates the wrap effect. The pattern was drafted for 3/4 length sleeves. I lengthened the sleeves to full length simply because I prefer full length sleeves. The fabric is a thin, slippery, rayon jersey. This will be lightweight enough to wear through the spring. I think it will look great with white jeans.

A binder attachment for my coverstitch would have made this much easier. Aside from trying to bind the edges with a thin, slippery fabric, this pattern went together with the ease and precision I have come to expect from Ottobre. The fit was spot on with the measurement chart. The directions were ample for Ottobre. I noticed there was more detail about where to add seam allowances with the bindings than in previous issues.

Tags:

5 Responses to "2 in 1 Wrap Top"

Teri, what a stunning top! I love all the ways the stripes come into play on this garment….as always, your work is flawless!

~Pam

Teri, fantastic top. I love the stripes, great job.

I love it. Looks great on you.

LOVE the fabric. The stripes make it. I wish I could wear mid-tie tops.

I love your top!! I have that one on my “to do” list – hopefully I can make one before the weather turns too warm. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

