mermaids

East meets West

Posted on: 3 May, 07

Hello my bloggy friends! I have not forgotten you or forgotten how to sew. Because I am working every day this week, my very limited free time has been spent sewing rather than documenting my sewing. πŸ™‚ I finished the swishy skirt from Ottobre and made a little sleeveless top from the leftovers. Love both of them, but not together. More about those when I get photos….

The subtle Asian style is what first attracted me to Simplicity 4020. Being drafted to a size 4 was also quite appealing. I did not have quite enough fabric to make the longer sleeve with the wide hem, as drafted. A contrasting neck band would have been pretty and solved the fabric shortage issue, but I had nothing that would work as a contrast. So, I shortened the sleeve a bit and used a smaller hem allowance. It required some very careful cutting, but I got it.

The top is extremely comfortable to wear. The close fitting lower bodice gathers up naturally to hide any little bumps in the midsection. The wrap top is not at all low cut and is not revealing when leaning over. Because the pattern is so close fitting, the fabric needs a good bit of stretch.

Because this style is rather distinctive and memorable, this pattern is not going to be used repeatedly. I don’t want a wardrobe of these, but perhaps I will make another one from velour from the colder weather. It could also be interesting in a sheer knit with a cami underneath….or the neck band and lower bodice in one color and the sleeves and upper bodice in another. I can also see expanding this pattern into a dress. So many options!

6 Responses to "East meets West"

It’s gorgeous, you made a very interesting use of the stripes in your fabric. Great job!

I love it. That style looks great on you.

I think that top looks great. Glad to hear that it is comfortable to wear. g

Looks very cute, teri. I like the style

I LOVE that top. I WANT IT! πŸ™‚

Looks very comfy! I’m looking for a similar style for making my first shirt, but I think I’d prefer sleeves not so gigantic! Thanks for visiting my blog and it’s great fun to explore yours!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

