mermaids

Maternal Instincts

Posted on: 12 August, 07


sleeveless wrap top

Originally uploaded by mermaids103

Let’s just clear up any confusion right now. No, I am not pregnant, but that did not stop me trying the Ottobre maternity top pattern, Design #20 from the 02/07 issue. Ok, I hacked this pattern to bits. The maternity allowance in the front was removed. I omitted the side gathers and the sleeves. I added a few gathers in the bust area. In the end, it does not really look the maternity top in the magazine.  Nonetheless, I am quite pleased with the result. It is a “not so basic” basic top that will be worn frequently. The fabric is a great red interlock from Chez Ami.  The Chez Ami interlocks have such a nice weight to them and really hold their color.  I simply have to make it to the next sale to stock up.

7 Responses to "Maternal Instincts"

I love it! Great fit.

That looks fabulous! Love the color and the modifications.

Very cute top, great changes.

How funny, I just made another top from my un-maternity version of that pattern. I really like your sleeveless version – did you change the armscye at all?

Thanks for the link to chezami – can’t buy good interlock here in Australia!

Actually, I just checked out the link you gave – it’s for children’s clothing. Did a google search and came up with this store: http://www.thefabricdistrict.com/ – they sell Chez Ami fabrics. But they are beautiful, so thanks again for the tip!

Wow! Teri!! That looks fantastic. I wish Ottobre would publish your “new” pattern. You are very talented!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

