mermaids

Gadgets – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Posted on: 16 September, 07

September is National Sewing Month, but you would never know it by the dust collecting on my sewing machines.  I subbed four days this week and had meetings almost every night.  It was also a week of that single parent thing because Hubski was in California.  There was barely time for sleep, much less sewing. 

Yesterday, I bought a new cell phone, a Nokia N75.  It has some smart phone capabilities and is also an mp3 player.  When I sub, it will be nice to have my calendar with me and be able to listen to music or podcasts during my planning periods.  It is not as slim as the Razr, but still small enough to fit nicely into a pocket.  I decided against the Treo and Blackberries because they are too bulky for me.  Besides, I prefer flip phones.  Fortunately, I have 30 days to return it if it turns out to be a piece of junk. 

The Nokia N75 will sync with MS Outlook via USB cable.  The first step was to transfer my calendar and contacts data from Palm Desktop to Outlook.  It should be a simple matter of selecting Outlook and running a hot sync. It would be simple if my Palm TX were not so fickle.  Because the TX wouldn’t play nice with the computer a few weeks ago, I put it in time out on a shelf.  We won’t even talk about how many hours I have spent since last night trying to get the TX to sync.  This morning, when Palm’s Live Chat support site opened, a dear soul named Matthew helped me.  We uninstalled, reinstalled, downloaded and upgraded for a couple hours.  We got the TX to sync to the Palm Desktop without losing any data despite several hard resets.  Getting the TX to then sync with Outlook required several more iterations of the same.  Matthew was patient and never made me feel like an idiot.  I gave him very high marks on the customer satisfaction survey.

The next step was so easy, I almost did not believe it.  Loading the Nokia PC Suite was quick and painless.  I hooked up the phone to the USB cable and held my breath.  In seconds, all of my calendar data, contacts, to do list, and notes were transferred to my phone.  The only “problem” I had was the extremely large number of contacts.  Searching through over 500 hundred contacts on the phone would be cumbersome.  I set up a second folder in Outlook for infrequently used contacts that I do not need on my phone.  They will still be easily accessible in Outlook, but won’t clutter up my phone.  I have not tried to load music yet.  I wanted to revel in my success for a bit.  I will be putting this phone through its paces over the next couple weeks, but first impressions are very good. 

My other bit of gadget news is a new to me blogging tool, Windows Live Writer. It is more like using MS Word than WordPress interface.  You can add photos, links, change fonts, and edit to your little heart’s content.  Once the post is pretty and read to go, a click of a button sends it to your blog.  I had trouble formatting this post in WordPress.  As you can see, it is much better with only minimal tweaking in Live Writer.  I bet it can do all sorts of nifty things that I have yet to discover.  To be quite truthful, I will never spend a great deal of time trying to make my posts fancy.  However, I hope this tool will help make posting easier and faster. 

2 Responses to "Gadgets – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly"

thanks for the info on Windows Live Writer…I’ve just installed it…I’ll let you know how it works!

WOW! The Windows Live Writer is AWESOME!!! I’ve already used it several times and it makes blogging sooooooooo much easier. It’s a must for anyone who prefers the Microsoft Word environment.

The only trouble I’m having is addin the “categories” to each post. I’ve linked my categories when installing it, but seem to figure out how to get them to appear in my posts within Windows Live Writer. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

