mermaids

A Novel Idea

Posted on: 3 November, 07

November is NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month.  People attempt to write an entire novel in the month of November by writing a certain number of words per day.  Many writers procrastinate because they want to get the words “just right.”  The idea is to just get something on paper. You can edit and revise at a later date, but you have start somewhere.  I have found this to be very true in my own writing and in helping students with their writing.  If you just start writing something, anything, the good stuff will eventually come out.

Well, I don’t think I can commit to writing a novel in one month.  (Who knows….maybe I could if I tried.)  Anyway, I observe NaNoWriMo by committing to blog every day for the month of November.  This ties in nicely with another writing tip I share with my students – write every day, even if it is only one sentence.  The thought of having to write only one sentence is not too intimidating.  Often, one sentence leads to two, then three, and more.  Getting started can be the hardest part.  So, for November, I will blog every day.  Some days, it might be only one sentence…and it many not even be a very good one….but you never know where one sentence may lead.

Having time to sew a few days ago did wonders for my spirit.  It reminded me how much I *need* to be creative on a regular basis, that I need to make time for creativity each day.  I thought, “Gee, if I am going to blog every day, wouldn’t it be nice to blog about sewing every day.”   That would mean I should do something sewing related every day.  Hmmm…..

So, I shall attempt to do something sewing related every day in November.  Thinking about sewing or reading sewing blogs doesn’t count.  It must be something that will move a sewing project forward.  It can be as simple as sewing one seam or laying out a pattern to be cut, but it must be something that physical moves the project forward.  I shall keep you updated with daily posts.

A little recap of the month thus far:

Nov 1 – finished the Monstrous Baby outfit

Nov 2 – labeled the pattern pieces for the baby outfit, filed them, and cleared off my cutting table so I can start another project

Nov 3 – pulled fabric and pattern for my next project which I shall tell you about tomorrow

Stay tuned!

2 Responses to "A Novel Idea"

Awesome. I shall read your blog daily to see what you’ve done! I do love the baby outfit. Note to self: Get that Ottobre magazine.

Wow, I thought I was an overachiever by doing the NaBloPoMo! No way could I handle NaNoWriMo! You go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

