mermaids

Flower Power

Posted on: 5 November, 07

As promised, a photo of yesterday’s completed project: 

The pattern is design #5 from the 02/07 issue of Ottobre Woman.  I used the sleeves from design #2 because I did not want the gathered sleeve cap.  The sleeves were also lengthened from three-quarter to full length.  I totally love this neckline.  It is flattering and fits so comfortably.  I wore the top today and it did not shift or require any fussing all day.  The vee is not too low and does not gape open when I lean over – an excellent quality in a top to be worn at a middle school. 

The fabric is soft, lightweight knit that has been in my stash for a few years.  I am not overly fond of the print, but I am not overly fond of most florals on me.  The fabric was purchased in an attempt to learn to love florals and I liked colors of this one.  I wore a cardigan most of the day because it was so cold in the classroom.  Imho, it looks better with the cardigan.  The pattern recommends a woven for the neckband.  I used a fairly stable knit instead.  Fusible lightweight interfacing gave it enough stability that it was easy to insert.  

I say with this with every Ottobre pattern, but it is always true – the drafting is superb.  The neck band fit perfectly into the opening.  The sleeve from desgin #2 is a perfect into the armhole of design #5.  This pattern will definitely be used again and again. 

Technorati Tags:
8 Responses to "Flower Power"

Teri…you’ve done it again! Yet another beautiful top!
In fact I like it so much that I am going to trace one out for myself tonight…gee maybe I’ll even have time to cut it out…..

Thanks for the inspiration….

Pam from ~Off The Cuff Style~

Very pretty top, Teri. I like the print.

I think it looks great – the floral on you. But then, I think one either likes florals or they do not. I happen to love them and think they look good most of the time. It often depends on the floral pattern though. That’s a pretty one – plus it’s purple. I love purple. 🙂 Good job!

Very cute! I like the print, as it’s a bit modern and not the typical floral (I’m not a huge floral person either).

The fit looks great! I love the neckline.
I’m not really a floral girl either, sometimes I just feel too ‘patterned’. The colours are cool though.
With what you said about it being better with the cardigan, you could try combining a floral with solid colour sleeves/back to tone it down a bit?

Lovely top! The fit is perfect.

The top is so pretty. I think the purple really pops in the floral. I can take florals in small doses. Looks good on you.

Gorgeous top! I still have yet to try that one, but I really need to. I LOVE Ottobre too – they are top notch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

