mermaids

Sew Thankful

Posted on: 22 November, 07

Yes, yes….I am thankful for the usual stuff…family, good health, friends, yada, yada.  Today, I am thankful that, for once, I was skilled in the kitchen.  Everything was ready at the exact right time.  Usually we are all standing around and waiting for something to be done long after everything else is ready to go on the table.  Tonight, it was precision clockwork like an expensive Swiss watch.

The cooking gods were really smiling down on me today because I also prepared just the right amount of food.  Typically, I prepare enough for a small, starving nation because I have an irrational fear of not having enough for everyone at the table.  We have some turkey leftover only because I could not find a smaller turkey breast.  (A few years ago, I decided we would only do a turkey breast because no one likes dark meat.  Why throw away all that turkey?)  My irrational fear of not having enough food battles with my hatred of leftovers.  I don’t even like leftovers of foods I really like, much less foods that are just okay.  Typical thanksgiving fare falls in the “just okay” category.   I am thrilled that my fridge is not overflowing with leftovers tonight.

If you haven’t already guessed, I am not big on traditions.  I get bored doing the same thing every year.  Why can’t one have tacos for thanksgiving if one likes tacos better than turkey?  We have had some very untraditional thanksgiving dinners – lasagna,  steak, and my personal favorite of “breakfast for dinner.”  Yes, one year we had a huge breakfast spread for our thanksgiving dinner.  It was delicious!  Just so my children don’t grow up totally warped, we do the typical spread every few years.

I am also thankful that I was able to spend some time in my sewing room today.  I started and finished a pair of flannel sleep pants that my neighbor asked me to make for her son.  She was shocked at the prices and poor selection for teen boys.  Chocolate mocha muffins were sent over to keep up my strength will sewing.  🙂  While I have the pattern out, I should make some for my boys too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

