mermaids

Housekeeping

Posted on: 17 December, 07

Monday is my “desk day,” when I tend to bills, paperwork, and mail. Today, I noticed that my cyber-mail needs to be attended to also. I *love* getting comments on my blog. The compliments brighten my day. The suggestions always give me something to think about. I like new ways of thinking about things. I would love to be one of those bloggers who replies to every comment, but I am realistic about my limitations. 🙂 I try to reply to questions, but sometimes life gets in the way of my good intentions. Since I am at home with a sick child today, it seems like a good time to catch up on comments.

The Insomnia – Some nights are better than others. Still can’t pinpoint a common denominator. Tried valerian on the recommendation of a friend. She neglected to warn me how awful it smells. OMG, I almost passed out when I opened the bottle. Ewww. It helped slightly. I still woke up several times, but was able to fall back asleep. Maybe I need to take it for several nights in a row. Maybe it would help if C were not coughing all night long for the last 8 days.

The Bound Neckline Tutorial – So happy that it has helped some people. A picture is definitely worth a thousand words. Just wish my photography skills were a little better. There is definitely more than one way to bind a neckline. My suggestion is to try a few different techniques to see which one is right for you.

Ottobre – It makes when happy when someone decides to try Ottobre patterns as a result of reading my blog. Sadly, I do not work for Ottobre….that would be a dream come true….so I have no financial interest in the success of the magazine. However, if more people buy the magazine, then it is more likely that the magazine will continue to be published. Seriously, after having suffered through some awful patterns, I want people to know there is a better option out there….all the way in Finland.

total side note…..Hubski has been working with a client in Finland via email and phone. There was talk of a trip to Finland. Well, you know where my head went. I would have sent him to the Ottobre offices with a huge gift basket, a camera for taking photos, and a plea for an advance copy of the new issue. Yes, Finland is a big country and I had no idea where the client is relative to the Ottobre offices. I had no room for those pesky details in my fantasy. If I can’t meet the Ottobre staff in person, Hubski was going to be my proxy. He did not go (yet) which is probably a good thing because winter in Finland doesn’t sound like a good idea.

Ottobre Jeans/Cords – There were a couple questions on my plan to lower the rise. I could fold out some of the height between the crotch and the waist. The waist will then need to be increased because it will fall on a wider part of the body. The pockets and yoke will need to be adjusted too. I will do my best to document the process with photos. It is not that hard to do, but you do need to think it through carefully.

The Telling – Thank you for the supportive words. A week later, things seem calmer. No, my boys did not do anything wrong…thank goodness…I cannot imagine getting *that* phone call. The school has been wonderful. I have learned that we have some terrific students. At some point, you just have to go on and not let the worry dominate your thoughts.

Candy Compulsion – So good to know I am not the only one who has quirky candy compulsions. Yes, I do this with M & M’s too.

Lastly, thank you for reading and commenting. I will do my best to make 2008 more informative and perhaps even entertaining.

4 Responses to "Housekeeping"

Loved the tutorial and all of the information you share. I want to thank you for your blog and the inspiration that you give to others. Merry Christmas and have a Blessed New Year!

A big cyberhug to my long distance friend. I hope you share tons and tons of pictures of the Ottobre crew here!

Isn’t it funny how we request things from family and friends traveling abroad? Like some silk embroideries from France, a little Ottobre from Finland and heck, wools from Germany?

it’s a small world after all…at least that’s what I keep telling myself!

With friendship,
Lisa

I think you subconciously do want to work for Ottobre as you said “sadly I do work for Ottobre”. LOL. I’d love it if you did too. You do great things with their magazine.

Reply to Sandra: ack!! i think it a classic “freudian slip.” working for ottobre would be such fun.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

