mermaids

A Meme to Pass the Time….

Posted on: 22 December, 07

This has been bouncing around.  Since IdeaGirl and Lisa did it, I thought “Why not?”

What kind of soap is your bathtub right now?

Technically, there is no soap in my bathtub.  Our tub bears a striking resemblance to a small swimming pool, so we seldom use it.  In the shower, we have Dove Body Wash because that is what the dermatologist recommended for Hubski’s skin issues.

Do you have any watermelon in your refrigerator?

Nope.  Not a big fan of watermelon, but we will have one or two during the summer.

What would you change about your living room?

The color.  It is still the same boring “builder’s beige” as the day we moved in.  I want to paint it a dramatic, deep indigo.  Hubski’s not so sure.  One of these, when goes on a trip, I just paint it whatever color I want.  Inertia will prevent him from doing anything about it.

Are the dishes in your dishwasher clean or dirty?

They are dirty because we just finished dinner.  We are in a very serious drought so I do not run the dishwasher unless it is totally full.

What is in your fridge?

It is a little barren right now because we a due for a trip to the market.  Milk, juice, soda, cheese, bread, cold cuts, a few sad veggies, and a variety of condiments.  There is one treasure that probably won’t be there by tomorrow morning….a raspberry cheesecake.  One of Hubski’s clients from NYC sends a cheesecake every year.  It is de-lish!!

White or wheat bread?

Wheat.  I never gave my boys white bread when they were little.  Consequently, they do not like white bread.

What is on top of your refrigerator? 

Nothing.  We are lucky enough to have quite a bit of cabinet space, so I do not allow anything to collect on top of the fridge.

What color or design is your shower curtain?

We have a glass door in our shower.

How many plants are in your home?

None.  The allergist said plant soil can be a major breeding ground for mold.  Since the boy and I are terribly allergic to mold, we have no indoor plants.  Besides, I kill most plants.  I even killed the bamboo that grows in just water.

Is your bed made right now?

No, Hubski has been in and out of the bed all day because he has a cold.

Is your closest organized?

Well, MY half of the closest is organized.  Everything is grouped according to clothing type, like pants, then skirts, etc.  I try to keep Hubski’s side organized.  However, when he does laundry, he doesn’t separate things before hanging them up.  It is his problem in the morning, not mine, so I don’t get too worked up about it.

Do you drink out of glass or plastic most of the time at home? 

Glass, all the time.  I keep a few plastic cups in the top of the cabinet in case we have small children visiting.

Do you have iced tea made in a pitcher right now?

No, not a big tea drinker.

If you have a garage, is it cluttered?

Our garage is not cluttered because we both like to park our cars in the garage.  The cars won’t fit if there is clutter.

Curtains or blinds?

We have a mix of curtains and blinds.  Due to allergies, we try to keep window treatments to a minimum.  Poofy curtains are dust magnets.  We need window treatments that can be easily removed and washed.  Lots of windows only have sheers because I like the light coming through.

How many pillows do you sleep with?

Three are available to me throughout the night.  The number of pillows used changes as I change position during the night.  The number of blanket layers also changes through the night.

Do you sleep with any lights on at night? 

No.  The moonlight that filters in through the window sheers is enough.

How often do you vacuum?

We have hardwood floors throughout our entire house.  Because of allergies, we have only a couple of large area rugs.  Those get vacuumed every week or two.  We don’t wear shoes inside the house which really keeps our floors and rugs much cleaner.

Standard toothbrush or electric? 

Standard.  I cannot stand electric toothbrushes.  A few years ago, I had to have extensive reconstructive work done in my mouth.  They cut into my palate in four places.  The pain was beyond description.  The scars are still extremely sensitive.  The vibration from an electric toothbrush or the polishing tool at the dentist sends me into orbit.  I shudder to even think of it.

Do you have a welcome mat on your front porch?

Yes.  We have highly functional (and yet decorative) mats at every entrance to cut down on the amount of dirt tracked into the house.

What is in your oven right now?

A batch of chocolate chip cookies.  I need to finish this before the timer rings….

Is there anything under your bed? 

No….except for a few dust bunnies.  🙂

Chore you hate doing the most? 

Oh gee, this is hard because I hate so many of them.  Cooking is probably my least favorite chore.  You work hard to produce something, then it is gone in a matter of minutes.

What retro items are in your home?

Hmmm, we have a few old things, but not sure if they qualify as “retro.”  My tastes is rather eclectic, so there must be something retro around here.

Do you have a separate room that you use as an office?

Yes, we have an extra bedroom that I use as my sewing space and office.

How many mirrors are in your home?

Five.  I would like a few more….not for looking at myself, per se.  I like the way mirrors reflect light.  I can go the entire day without looking at myself in the mirror.  There are many days when that is not such a great idea.  🙂

What color are your walls?

Yikes!  Which room?  Because the first floor of the house is an open floor plan, I am trying to get all the colors to “flow.”  There are several shades of a bluish lavender.  The breakfast area is a fire engine red.  The red is carries over into the kitchen above the cabinets.  The walls in the kitchen are sky blue, with bold colors for the accessories.  Upstairs, C’s room is lettuce green with orange and blue accents.  My sewing space is girly pink.  The bonus room is blue, green, and yellow.  The master bedroom and J’s room are still “builder’s beige” because we cannot agree decide on colors.  We might paint J’s room next week.

Do you keep any kind of protection weapons in your home? 

Not in the traditional sense.  We have a few taekwondo weapons that the boys use for kali salat.  Through taekwondo, we are all learning how to use various everyday items as weapons.  My nails could do some damage if necessary.

What does your home smell like right now?

Cookies!!!

Favorite candle scent?

I like variety, but tend to not like the fruity scents.  A friend gave me a candle that smells like the beach.  Love it.

Ever been on your roof?

Yes, when the house was being built.

How many TVs do you have?

Three that are in use.  We have two more tucked away in closets.

How many house phones?

We have no land line anymore….and no, I don’t miss it.

Do you have a housekeeper?

No, and I am still waiting for my house elf to show up.

What style do you decorate in? 

Eclectic.  I like the clean lines of Scandinavian furniture.   I like bright and bold colors.  I don’t like clutter and fussy things.

Do you like solid colors in furniture or prints?

I tend towards mostly solids for furniture.  I worry about getting tired of a print before the furniture is ready to be replaced.  A bunch of throw pillows and accessories can be changed more easily than an entire sofa.

Is there a smoke detector in your home?

Yes, we have several of both floors of the house.  They were built in during construction.

In case of fire, what are the items in your house which you’d grab if you only could make one quick trip? 

My purse, keys, and glasses would be first.  I also have a folder of important information that would make life easier in case of disaster.  I keep a back of my computer offsite, but it would be nice to have enough time to grab the tower too.  The sewing machines would be hard to replace…..  Let’s just hope all of smoke alarms would give us enough time to not have to make these choices….

Ok…who is going to play next?

2 Responses to "A Meme to Pass the Time…."

I’m working on mine, hope to post later! So what color did you paint the LR?

ha! these are so cool. I get to know you just a teeny bit better!

xo t

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

