mermaids

Fabric Destiny

Posted on: 17 March, 08

 

 

 

 

Hubski bought this fabric in Germany because it was so unusual.  I have been waiting for it to decide what it wanted to be.  This style of jacket seemed perfectly suited for my small frame, but all of the patterns I liked did not come in my size.  Yes, I could alter the pattern, but that is a pain I was not willing to endure.  Then I discovered the line of Project Runway inspired patterns by Simplicity.  The angels were singing.  I love all things Project Runway and the patterns are sized down to a four!!  This is pattern my funky German fabric had been waiting for.  The fabric is from Germany.  Heidi Klum is from Germany.  See, it was destiny.

 

Generally, I skip the directions.  Flying by the seat of my pants has become a way of life for me.  Since this was a new line of patterns, I gave them a quick scan.  The pattern includes a “croquis” for designing your jacket.  There is a line drawing of each element which you can cut out or trace and put the pieces together to “create your own style.”  It is to help you visualize what your jacket will look like with the various sleeve, collar, and length combinations.  It is probably not a bad idea for the beginner who has trouble visualizing the end product.  I skipped that part.  The layout of the directions is not intuitive.  A beginner might get lost trying to find the directions for her individual options.  I opted to omit the collar, which is an option shown on the envelope, but the directions never explained how to sew the jacket without a collar. 

Scanning the instructions was a good idea because they use some odd construction techniques.  I am not sure they would be an easier for a beginner.  I don’t think you get as good of an end result as you would with more traditional methods.  The jacket is fully lined which is good.  However, I prefer facings of fashion fabric along the edges so no lining can peek out along hems and such.  I understitched along the neckline so the lining could not accidentally roll out.  For the armholes, they have you use a sort of “Hong Kong” finish which I am not crazy about.  It was challenging to do on such a small opening, not something I would recommend to beginners. 

I understand what they are trying to do with breaking down all the options.  “Let you be the designer…..” Yada, yada. To figure out the yardage required, you look up the sleeve you want, then the jacket length, then collar style, etc.  Finally, you add up all those little fractions of a yard to get a total.  According to their calculations, this jacket would have needed over 2 yards of fabric.  It is a tiny little jacket…not very long and not even full length sleeves.  Two yards sounded like way too much.  I used a smidge over a yard.  Yep, that would have been a lot of waste.  Ok, truth be told, I had almost 2 yards of this fabric, so have about 3/4 of yard leftover.  I am not sure what I will do with it because it is rather “memorable” and not suited for many other things.  Anyway, pattern envelopes usually overstate the required yardage, but doing it in the piecemeal fashion is even worse. 

Overall, I am tickled pink with the end result.  It is a cute, sassy little jacket that fits well.  I might make another one for summer from a lighter weight fabric, but how many of these can a girl have in her wardrobe? 

Here is a close up of the inside.  This is the edge of the front facing.  The lining is a piece of silk leftover from another project.  The fabric has an interesting texture of random pleats and folds.  The pleats and folds are held in place by a woven webbing on the reverse side.  Plus, the colors are really groovy.  I think it will look even better with a pair of white jeans for summer. 

4 Responses to "Fabric Destiny"

Great jacket, Teri. It looks very nice on you and the fabric is gorgeous. How about a purse from the leftover fabric. Might be great for a fun summer bag.

Your jacket turned out amazing! And a BIG Thank You for your pointers- I bought a bunch of the ProjRun patterns when Joann had their 5 for $5 sale (!? would they PLEASE do that more often!?) and have yet to try them, but they ALL have that varying options to make your own style from one pattern thing… so I’m a little worried about making them.

Reply to Cristalle: Thanks for reading my blog! As for the PR patterns, my best advice is to read the directions carefully before you even begin to cut out the fabric. Highlighting or using little Post-it Note flags might be helpful to mark the directions that apply to the garment options you will be using. I am anxious to try another one because the fit was so good on this one. Can’t believe I just said that about a non-Ottobre pattern. gasp!

Adorable jacket! The leftover fabric would be great for a little purse or lining another garment.

Reply to MelissaB: Aha! You have spark an idea for the rest of this fabric. Now, do you have any ideas of how to squeeze in some extra sewing time?

Fabulous Teri! You did your usual great job constructing this jacket …that plus the style and your fabric choice makes this a real winner!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

