mermaids

Happy Coincidences

Posted on: 26 March, 08

Ding, ding, ding…..Gaylen got it right.  The photos are of the Biltmore House in Asheville, NC.  It was just the kind of low key getaway that we all needed.  The Biltmore was truly amazing.  The indoor pool and bowling alley were dwarfed by the rest of the basement if that gives you any clue as to how incredibly huge this place was.  It is incomprehensible that this was built as a single family dwelling.  We were there on Easter Sunday, hence the large number of children and small plastic eggs on the front lawn.  Over the next few days, I will upload more photos to my Flickr account.  (If you click on one of these, it will take you to my Flickr photostream.)  Indoor photos were prohibited.  😦  The gardens were just starting to bloom, but it was still impressive.  I bet it will be stunning in a couple of weeks. 

    

 

It is rather ironic that Gaylen figured out the mystery location because I also received this lovely from her in today’s mail:

She sent it as her “Pay It Forward” gift.  Isn’t it gorgeous?!?!  More irony here…When Gaylen posted the shawl on her blog, I thought, “Wow, that would be perfect for summer when you wear a little sundress, but it gets chilly when the sun goes down.  Where would I ever find one that doesn’t cost a bazillion dollars?”  Won’t I look chic and stylish this summer?  I wish you could feel it….so soft and cozy.  The workmanship is amazing.  She has certainly set the bar pretty high for the gifts I still need to send out.  Again, more irony…just this weekend I finally decided what I would make for my gifts to send out.  No, I am not telling.  🙂  A million “thank yous” to Gaylen! 

5 Responses to "Happy Coincidences"

I am so glad you received it. I was thrilled to death when you posted your comment – I thought ‘perfect, she will love it!” I can’t tell you how worried I was. I’m so glad you like it and can’t wait to see what you send out. g

I have been to the Biltmore in 2006 and it is incredible. I loved the gardens and could have spent more time there.

The shawl is gorgeous and what a nice gift.

Wow, you are lucky, the shawl is beautiful!

I haven’t been to Biltmore in 15 years or so, but I’ve loved it every time. I remember going once in high school and running into a school friend — weird coincidence. Have you tried their wines? I’ve heard they’ve improved.

wow, that is amazing!!

Gaylen is a remarkable knitter – she amazes me with how fast she puts this stuff out. I think that’s a gorgeous shawl. You are so lucky! I would love to see the Biltmore house someday. How awesome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

