mermaids

Pondering

Posted on: 14 April, 08

I am working on design #7 from the 02/08 issue of Ottobre Woman.  It is a sleeveless dress with a shirred waist…very simple, very cute, looks very comfortable.  The fabric of choice is one of the yummy silks Hubski bought in China.  The silk charmeuse will drape beautifully and be scrumptious for summer.  The armholes and neckline are bound with bias strips.  Silk charmeuse and bias strips should not be in the same sentence.  I have done one armhole and I am not pleased with the results.  Using tons of starch to give the fabric more stability has helped.  So, now I am pondering alternatives to the bias binding.  FOE is my favorite binding material, but not appropriate for this project.  I may experiment with cutting the bindings on less of a bias.  If this were a cotton or linen, this dress would go together in a snap.  The silk is beautiful but definitely has a diva complex. 

2 Responses to "Pondering"

do you have to use the same fabric, or can you use a different fabric for the binding? What if you skipped the binding on the armholes and just did a turned under hem? Not that I’m an expert. But I like easy… πŸ˜‰

[…] the fits the binding was giving me?  I tried severely starching the bias strips, but was still not happy with the […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

