mermaids

Jalie Twist

Posted on: 21 April, 08

Most twist top patterns should come with a warning label, “Extreme plunge ahead.”  Given my build, such a daring neckline did not seem like a good choice.  Jalie patterns are sized from little bitty girls to Rubenesque women.  I felt confident that I fit somewhere in that vast range.  Though it is something I could easily draft myself, the “modesty panel” further encouraged me that this pattern had potential. 

I traced off my usual Jalie size.  The pattern is designed with a low scoop in the back.  A tie is added to hold the shoulders in place.  In the words of Tim Gunn, this is “overdesigned.”  It also seemed a bit on the saucy side for a middle school teacher.  I just raised the back neckline.  I also lengthened the sleeves to full length. 

Jalie directions are not overly detailed, but adequate to get the job done.  The illustrations are quite helpful in figuring out the twist portion.  The sewing is actually quite simple.

The neckline is a bit low, but such is the nature of twist tops.  Fortunately, the neckline really hugs the body.  There is absolutely no “peek a boo” factor when I lean over.  This is very important when working in a middle school.  There is a little ease in the waist area, providing a bit of camouflage for any tummy fluff.

Jalie 2788 is one of those “memorable” patterns.  I don’t want more than a couple of these in my wardrobe.  The ruffled trim is cute, but a bit fusy for me.  You definitely want to use a thinner knit.  Heavier fabrics would cause too much bulk at the twist.  FOE would work well for the neckline finish.  The modesty panel could be in a contrasting fabric to give the illusion of a cami underneath.  A little lace would really reinforce that concept.

Oh, the fabric….it is a crepe-y type knit from Mood Fabrics.  Due to the seam down the center front, stripes or a very obvious print would be tricky. 

7 Responses to "Jalie Twist"

wow! love it!

Beautiful top!

That’s a really pretty top. Love the fabric. Something about where the twist tops twist that makes them inherently low cut. But very pretty.

Very cute! I may have to add a twist top to my list of things to try! Love the colors! 🙂

Pretty! Love the fabric!

Teri this is positively stunning! I love your modifications. Now I actually want to make the dress!

gorgeous colors and style! lovely work =)

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

