mermaids

Tag, I’m It

Posted on: 18 June, 08

I don’t do memes very often, but when Karen tagged me, I just had to play along.  🙂 

1.  What was I doing 10 years ago? 

Ten years ago, I was the mom of preschoolers, not teenagers.  I was working part time as the assistant director of a non profit preschool.  Sewing was a daily part of my life.  Fortunately, that has not changed. 

2.  What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):

* pay some bills

* get the oil changed in my car. 

* mail some birthday cards to friends

* fill out insurance forms – hate, hate, hate doing this one

* physical therapy exercises (groan)

3.  Snacks I enjoy:

popcorn, Mexican hot chocolate with cookies for dipping, gelato (a little shop opened next to the neighborhood grocery store…yum!)

4.  Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

I would have a house on the ocean, not sure which ocean, but I want to hear the crashing of the waves and feel the sand between my toes.  I would not want a big, grand house.  Just something the fits our family and has a great sewing room, of course.  🙂  A great deal of it would go to schools.  However, I would put the decision making in the hands of the teaches who know what is really needed on a daily basis.  We would travel a bit more, but, overall, our daily life would not change dramatically.  Oh….shoes….I would have cute shoes custom made for my ridiculously small feet.  Yeah, that would be my one big indulgence. 

5.  Places I have lived:

Always in the South.  I have never lived north of the Mason Dixon line.  When I lived in California, it was Southern California.  Weather is the big deciding factor.  I start pulling on sweaters and jackets when the temp drops below 70.

6.  Jobs I have had:

This could be a long list.  As far back as I can remember, I was always looking for a way to make a dime.  I started sewing when I was 5.  In elementary school, I sewed little tchotchkes and sold them to classmates.  In 8th grade, I had a babysitting ring.  I gathered a group of girls and found us jobs babysitting for large events, like weddings, parties, etc.  I made a fortune, relatively speaking.  In high school, I was a stylist and graphic designer for a couple of local rock bands.  I taught needlepoint to a team of professional basketball players.  I started buying art as an investment, which mostly  paid my college tuition.  I tutored, I wrote copy for local businesses, I was a bookkeeper.  I never had any of the typical teenage jobs like waitressing, fast food, the mall.  When I was 16, I began work in banking, my chosen field, but still kept up the odd jobs on the side to help pay the bills.  I was living on my own by 16, so money was always an issue.  After 10 years in banking and finance, I went back to school to pursue my first passion, teaching. 

7. 6 Peeps I would like to know more about (in no particular order)

* Gaylen at http://gmariesews.blogspot.com

* Angie at http://angusdei1996.wordpress.com

* Karen at http://brazencrafts.blogspot.com

* Clare at http://littlemis.wordpress.com

* Sue at http://thyme2sew.blogspot.com

* Meg at http://nutimeg.typepad.com/frog_in_a_blog/  (maybe this will get her to update her blog… hint, hint)

2 Responses to "Tag, I’m It"

Thanks for tagging me. I did a very similar version of this last week, the only difference is the first question – 5 years vs 10. It’s fun to play along and read about everyone, isn’t it? g

Ok Ok! I’ll come “play”!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

