mermaids

(K)need to Knit

Posted on: 21 June, 08

This is a plea to all my knitting friends.  I want to learn to knit socks.  I know the basic stitches and can probably decipher instructions.  Any recommendations on a good beginning sock book?  There is only one knit shop in my area.  Gasp, I know.  They don’t have classes in the summer, which is the only time of year that I have time for classes.  So, it looks like this going to be a “self taught” proposition.  Am I delusional for thinking I can figure this out on my own? 

If I end up having knee surgery in August, I will desperately need something to do.  Since I can no longer participate in taekwondo, I need something to do while the boys are in class.  I need to knit! 

9 Responses to "(K)need to Knit"

Lucy Neatby’s Cool Socks Warm Feet – has the basics, well explained (in words, with some diagrams), a few patterns, and various parts of the sock (several different toe and heel construction methods) so you can be adventurous in putting together your own sock “pattern” when you are ready. Stitch counts for various gauges and size of sock.

Remember that socks require negative ease of about an inch or so. And it’s easier to try on toe up socks, although most “beginner” socks are written as cuff down with a flap and gusset heel.

Have fun – it’s a lot easier than it looks!

I learned how to knit socks using an online tutorial. That was years ago, and I don’t recall the website. Here’s one I found while poking around on Ravelry:

http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Start.htm

Other than that, probably something by Ann Budd, like her book Getting Started Knitting Socks, or Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks (I own the latter but not the former). They give you a formula for figuring out your own patterns, which I suspect will suit you given how you approach sewing.

While I haven’t tried it yet, I’ve got a book called “Crazy Toes and Heels”. She does toe up and cuff down instructions both in the same book.
http://www.queenkahuna-creations.com/crazytoesandheelsbook.html
She has a really clean method for doing the heel which is why I bought it….
The book is still properly aging on my shelf because I’m still immersed in my Mason Dixon Knitting book. You’re going to have to post your socks to get me off my hiney and motivate me to work on mine…!

Hop on over (no pun intended!) to a Borders or other big book store and give a look at the knitting books. See what appeals to you for the pictures. My first pattern was on the inside of the label of Lion Brand Magic Stripes yarn. Stepahine Pearl-McPhee’s “Knitting Rules” has a good generic sock “recipe” and the sock-shaped Knit Socks! has decent directions.
There are bunches of tutorials on line, and the ones with video are super! I recently lost all of my bookmarks so let me see what I can find.
I personally prefer knitting with one long circular needle, as it’s easier for me to stop at any point and put back in my back if I’m knitting “on the road”. Using double point needles is not as hard as it looks, though, as long as you remember there are only 2 needles “in play” at a time and the others are just stitch holders.

Oh, and I forgot – Lots of Borders have knitting groups that meet in their cafe – I’ll check on Ravelry.com for one in your area!

Teri, I have been teaching myself to knit socks lately as well. I am using the book, “I Can’t Believe I’m Knitting Socks” by Cindy Guggemos. The basic sock is made using 5 needles. It was driving me crazy using that many needles. I was in a local yarn store and we were talking about that and they said I could do it with 4 needles — much easier! I have another book that teaches you to do socks on circular needles. I want to finish the current pair (not a lot of time for knitting so it will probably be ages) and then try the circular. The book is “Knitting Circles around Socks” by Antje Gillingham. The yarn store that I found locally does not do lessons in the summer, but they have promised that they will have a sock class in the fall plus if I take my socks up there anytime they will work with me as long as they don’t have customers to help. I might take them up on that one of these days!
Good luck with the knitting and the knee surgery!

I taught myself from Silver’s Sock Class (mentioned above) and from a Leisure Arts booklet by Edie Eckman called “Learn to Knit Socks.” The booklet give good illustrations for the steps in sock knitting, and I still refer to it for the Kitchener stitch.

Good luck! I’ll be watching for your first pair of socks! : )

Cat Bordhi’s Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles
http://www.catbordhi.com/socks_soar.html

Socks at Knitty.com
http://knitty.com/archiveFEET.html

There is an online class (free!!) http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/ Its a great site. I taught myself to knit socks before I found it but recommend it to everyone I know who thinks they want to try sock knitting. Be warned….it is addictive!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

