mermaids

Sewing the Blues

Posted on: 22 June, 08

Ever since school ended, I have been running around like a crazy person doing all the things I haven’t had time to do because of school. A couple nights ago, I announced, “I need to sew. I’m going upstairs to sew. I don’t know what I will sew, but I will sew something.” C said, “Why don’t you sew something for me.” He followed me upstairs to look through my fabric swatches. He picked out a fabric then vacated the room so I could begin.

I used a favorite shirt pattern, Ottobre 01/03 #30. However, C has grown considerably since the last time I used that pattern. He summoned upstairs again for a quick measuring session. The 170 worked with a bit of tweaking. This means I will need to find a new favorite pattern for this type of shirt. Pardon me while I dry my tears.

The shirt was traced and cut out. Given how many shirts I have made like this, the sewing could been done in my sleep. After a quick conference on button selection, the shirt was done. C was a happy boy to have a new shirt. I was happy to have spent some time sewing….and used up a couple yards of stash.

The fabric, by the way, was purchased already tie dyed. I did not do that. While I adore the look of hand dyed fabrics, I do not particularly enjoy the process of dyeing. The fabric was purchased at JoAnn’s a couple years ago.

4 Responses to "Sewing the Blues"

Awesome shirt. Teri – you’ll never guess… I’m sewing today! Rather at last cutting out fabric. Off to Joanns for a zipper though.

Very Cool Shirt Teri!

Nice job!!!

With friendship,
Lisa

[…] up even though I had no particular use for them at the time.  As I was trimming the collar of C’s shirt, I saw the buckets.  Aha!  I am too lazy to bend over and throw something away under the […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

