mermaids

The Long and Short of It

Posted on: 11 July, 08

After lots of tweaking, I am fairly happy with this shorts pattern.  It started out as McCalls 4839.  This pattern has been lurking in my stash forever.  I am trying to use some of the patterns in my stash.  If I don’t love them, out they will go.

I dropped the waist band about two inches in the front and an inch in the back.  The front darts were no longer needed.  The back darts had to be moved about an inch towards the center back and were shortened.

I added patch pockets to the back.  I hate not having a pocket for my cell phone.  The next time I make them, I will add slash pockets to the front.

The waistband is drafted straight.  I might draft a curved waist band so there is less gaping in the back when I sit down.  It doesn’t gape much but I would rather it did not gape at all.

This pair was meant to be a muslin.  The fabric was an old remnant that I’ve had for way too many years.  As luck would have it, I now have a highly wearable pair of shorts.

Technorati Tags: ,
1 Response to "The Long and Short of It"

I wish even half of my muslins turned out so nicely. I like the mods you made and the shorts look great on.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

