mermaids

Pie, Potatoes, and Pop

Posted on: 13 July, 08

The pie.  OMG.  I am not known for my culinary skills, but I am now known for this pie.  I cannot tell a lie.  It is not my own recipe.  It can be found here.   The pie takes no more than 15 minutes to throw together.  (Definitely my kind of recipe!)  After it chills for three hours in the fridge, you have some delicious chocolatey, peanut buttery goodness.  Oh, and whipped cream is never a bad thing.  I am keeping this recipe.  It will be “go to” recipe when I need to bring a dessert.

The “Not Really Potato” potato salad turned out better than I thought.  Again, I can’t take credit for the idea.  I was half way listening to Rachael Ray one day when she said something about making potato salad with gnocchi instead of regular potatoes.  No peeling, no dicing, boils quicker.  Totally my kind of recipe.  Of course, I couldn’t remember exactly what she did and I usually wing it when it comes to recipes anyway.  Did I write anything down?  Pffft.  Of course not because I never make a dish the same way twice.  So, here is what I did to the best of my recollection.

Boiled 2 packs of gnocchi.  Cooked 5 strips of bacon.  Chopped a bit of onion and chives.  Made a “dressing” of brown mustard, olive oil, cumin, salt, pepper, and garlic.  Rinsed the gnocchi, tossed it all together, and served warm.  Easy as pie….see above.  🙂  It was a great side dish for our grilled burgers and Caesar salad.

So that was the pie and potatoes.  Now we come to the “pop.”  Just after Hubski brings in the platter of juicy grilled hamburgers, we here a loud POP outside.  No, not fireworks.  The front glass on a the gas grill shattered and the grill was on fire.  Thank goodness no one was standing near it when it happened.  Thank goodness our burgers were not peppered with shards of glass.  We quickly got everything under control.  It was just a little sad to see our grill finally give up the ghost.  It was a wedding present 18 years ago.

2 Responses to "Pie, Potatoes, and Pop"

Sorry to hear about your grill. Glad no one got hurt.

Delish food but how scary about the grill!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

