mermaids

Resizing Ottobre

Posted on: 28 July, 08

Ottobre patterns come in a wide range of sizes, yet there are times when one needs a size outside of that range.  There are lots of methods for resizing patterns.  This is what works for me.  Hopefully, it will work for you too. 

For design #19 from the 04/08 issue, I need a size 158.  The largest size for that design in 152.  Going up one size is not a big jump.  To get the proportions right, I needed to figure out how much “one size up” is.  So, I look at the difference between a 146 and a 152.  A seam gauge is my friend for this project. 

First, I find my pattern piece on the sheet.  Yes, it looks a little like spaghetti, but your eyes get use to it after some practice.  I use Swedish Tracing Paper for my patterns.  It is sheer enough to see through, yet sturdy enough for the pattern to be used over and over again. 

I use my handy dandy seam gauge to measure the difference between 146 and 152.  The difference between the two sizes is not constant around the entire piece.  I do have to keep measuring and adjusting.  It is a little tedious and does take some time.  Put on a movie or some good music and the time will fly by.  Sometimes I put my phone on speaker and trace while I am chatting or stuck on hold.   I am not happy unless I am multitasking.

As I find the difference between the two sizes, I add that measurement to the 152.  For curved areas, I place my marks a little closer together.  For long, straight areas, fewer marks are needed. 

Here is what it looks like after I have made all of my little marks along one side.  You will learn how many marks you need to get a good curve. 

Finally, I use a ruler or curve to connect the marks.  Of course, I still have to add seam allowances. 

I will be honest.  There are times when I just freehand some lines, especially those skinny little curves where there is only a smidge difference between two sizes. 

For this example, I was only going up one size.  However, this same method can be done to go up or down more than one size.  I don’t think I would try to go more than 4 or 5 sizes.  You might lose the integrity of the design.  A simpler design would have more margin for error.  A design with lots of detail or a very close fit would be riskier. 

6 Responses to "Resizing Ottobre"

great tutorial. There are several patterns I have been wanting to size up but thought the task to daunting – thanks for the easy explanation.

ooops i freehand most of the time lol

Thanks for that Teri!
I had to laugh at your comment about multitasking as I like to do that myself.

do you first trace of the largest size and do the increases on that, or do you do it right on the ottobre pattern itself? It looks like you just added your lines right on the pattern but won’t that make the other patterns on the same sheet confusing with all those extra markings that is needed to size up?
Thanks
Eileen

Reply to Eileen: I do not trace the largest size first. I do the enlargement right onto the Swedish Tracing Paper. Yes, those pattern sheets are confusing enough without extra markings. 🙂

[…] Kaiku tunic from the 04/08 issue of Ottobre.  Since it wasn’t the right size, I had to resize the pattern.  I won the fabric as a door prize at the American Sewing Guild conference in Chicago.  […]

[…] Look often has cute patterns, but they never come in my size.  I decided to use my method of resizing Ottobre patterns on this New Look pattern.  The results were mixed.  Ottobre’s drafting is […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

