mermaids

Beginnings and Endings

Posted on: 24 August, 08

Call me a party pooper, but I am unimpressed with the closing ceremonies of the Olympics.  Perhaps a more specific statement would be I am unimpressed with NBC’s coverage of the closing ceremonies.  Since we are not seeing it live, there was clearly time to edit and produce a decent piece of film.  Can we cut away from the parade of nations already?  Watching the athletes wave at the camera, wave their little flags, and take videos is really not all that entertaining.   And those hats that the Americans are wearing?  OMG, with all the talented designers we have in the US, that’s the best we could come up with? 

The Johnson & Johnson ad with Michael Phelps’ mom kind of choked me up a bit.  So sweet.  Even with all those gold medals, Michael is just her little boy.  No matter how big they get, they are still your babies.  My oldest starts high school tomorrow.  When I dropped him off for orientation last Thursday, all I could see was my little boy walking away. 

Tomorrow will be a tough day for me.  It is not so much that he is starting high school.  He is so ready, so well prepared.  The problem is how fast these next four years will go.  Middle school happened in the blink of an eye.  In four years he will take off for college.  It will be the end of his life under my roof.  The next year, C will follow him.  How will I get through the day without seeing my babies? 

Maybe I should go watch more of the closing ceremonies.  Maybe the show will get better and take my mind off tomorrow’s event – the beginning of the end. 

4 Responses to "Beginnings and Endings"

Hugs your way, teri. Been there done that and know exactly what you are saying. Just cherish each moment and know how much your sons appreciate you and care for you. I will be thinking of you tomorrow, good luck

They do grow up too fast. Seems like just yesterday my daughter was a senior – that’s 10 years ago!

you’ve brought a tear to my eye…my oldest heads to middle school next week and I am So sad!

My heart is with you teri, I teared up just reading your post and remembering all the days like that we have been thru with our 4dds and now our soon to be 9 dgks. Time just speeds up more and more each year. But I can see you recognize that each farewell begins a new exciting stage of life. My oldest grand “baby” is in his last year of high school and will be going to university next fall. He’s planning on Law school and I expect he will do it. He’s a very focused young man. Champion debater and avid sailboat racer. I keep forgetting how grown up he is. When I just a bit older than he is now, I was pg with his mom, my dd1.
And in just a few hours, I will have a new grandbaby. DD3 is having her scheduled c-section this afternoon at 1:30. I am so excited to see baby Joshie. J (2yo) says “Mommy’s going to open up a zipper and take my brudder Joshie out” that’s his understanding of a c-section lol.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

