mermaids

Staying Connected

Posted on: 17 September, 08

I often like to change into my lounge pants after dinner, but I am always forgetting where I left my phone.  Lounge pants typically don’t have pockets.  I put the phone on the table, wander upstairs, and suddenly have to sprint down the stairs when I hear my phone ringing.  I don’t know why it took me so long to come up with the “brilliant” idea of adding a pocket to my lounge pants.  Duh!  I had a bit of fabric leftover, so my beloved Project Runway pants were the first ones to be retrofitted. 

Yes, I feel like a major geek because I have to stay connected to my phone at all times.  It makes one question my addiction to my cell phone.  As a substitute teacher, my phone is how I get work.  When a teacher needs a sub, they enter the request into a database.  A computer then starts calling substitute teachers on the list.  If a sub does not answer his or her phone, it goes to the next person.  (Many teachers will contact me directly to see if I am available and then enter it in the database as a “prearranged assignment.”)  The substitute line can call anywhere from 6:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.  Keeping my phone on me at all times is important.  On days I don’t want to work, I have been known to simply ignore my phone.  🙂 

I did not do a pocket on the backside because then I would have to remove my phone when I sit down.  That would lead to forgetting where I left my phone, thus defeating the whole purpose of the pocket.  A side seam pocket can also make sitting uncomfortable with a cell phone. 

After walking around with this pair for a while, I have come to a two conclusions.  First, the pocket could be a tad higher on the leg.  Second, this was an awesome addition to these pants, even if it does slightly diminish the style factor.  My phone has been ringing non-stop this evening.  It has been awesome to not race around the house searching for a ringing phone. 

Case in point:  As I was typing this, the substitute line called me for a job tomorrow. 

5 Responses to "Staying Connected"

Teri…love these lounge pants…very cool!

….I don’t see your phone *in* the pocket…where you chatting while the pic was being taken? >smile<

well, if you’re not a freaking genius, I don’t know who IS.

*smacking my forehead* Why on earth didn’t I think of that?

The infamous Burda No Side Seam pants will have a side patch pocket added to both legs before getting sewn together from now on.

Great idea!

Most excellent idea!!

Although, I have been doing that to my lounge/pajama pants for years.

I’ve carried, doggy treats, keys, tissues (for allergies), monthly supplies and, of course, my cell phone!

Glad it works for you.

Good idea! Last week I was on 24/7 duty for the week, so it would have held my Blackberry too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

