mermaids

Little Miss Floral

Posted on: 28 October, 08

I finished this a couple weeks ago and almost forgot to post photos.  This outfit is for the art teacher’s daughter who just turned two. It was one of those when I just felt like sewing something sweet and pretty.  I dug through my stash and found these two pieces of fabric that matched perfectly. 

 

 

 

 

 

The top is Design #9 from the 03/04 issue of Ottobre Design.  The fabric is a printed rib knit that was left over from a top I made for myself.  I used FOE to bind the neckline. 

 

 

 

The pants were made from Design #14 from the 04/08 issue.  The fabric is nubby silk twill.  I know… silk for a two year old?  It is washable, so why not?  It was also left over from another project.  This is a view of the pintucks on the front.  I eliminated the front pockets because they seemed unnecessary and overly fussy. 

 

 

 

 

Here is the back pocket detail.  The pintucks make the pockets a bit poofy.  Not a look I would want on my pants, but kind of cute on a two year old. I bound the edges with a printed bias tape that closely mimics the print of the knit top. 

Here is a full view of the back. 

The edges of the hem were also bound with the printed bias tape.  It is a little large for the Little Miss, but not by much.  It should fit her well by spring.  Mom loves the “not found in the local mall” look. 

7 Responses to "Little Miss Floral"

Very cute outfit, Teri, great colors and details.

That is very cute! You are so generous. I guess this is one good way to sew for girls when you have boys. LOL.

That is such great outfit! Love the fabrics you chose.

What a fabulous outfit. And good for you – getting the girl to wear silk at such a young age. g

Teri…..Love love LOVE this set!
The details are fabulous, and your fabric choice divine!

(Come on over and see what I’ve been “twisting up” at
~Off The Cuff Style~ ! )

Love the outfit and unusual colors. That little girl will be so well dressed. LOVE the fabric used on those pants. Why shouldn’t a little girl have silk? Yes indeed.

Ooh! Love that. Nice job with the trim/piping! It looks great! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I can see you love Ottobre too (:

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

