mermaids

‘Tis the Season for Seclusion

Posted on: 15 November, 08

I heard the first Christmas song of the season on the radio today.  I suppose it could be worse.  Perhaps mid-November is not so crazy early.  Perhaps it is “so late” because I seldom listen to the radio, opting for cd’s or my MP3 player instead. 

Pulling into the shopping center parking lot, one would never guess we are in the midst of an economic crisis.  Goodness gracious!  I may have to move up the date for my self imposed ban from the shopping malls.  Typically, I refuse to go near a mall from Thanksgiving until late January.  It seems I may need to change that date to November 1st.  Thank goodness for the Internet.  That’s where I will do my shopping this year. 

6 Responses to "‘Tis the Season for Seclusion"

Ditto, Ditto, Ditto! I listen to an Oldies channel and today they had nothing but Christmas music. Way too early. I became an internet shopper years ago. If you wait until the last minute, they give you free shipping and great deals!

That is exactly how our mall was, too. I took the twins for so they could try on clothes and give me ideas for presents. It was so packed, I couldn’t wait to get out.

HA! We have the all christmas song channel here that starts November 1.
We too went to the mall yesterday, but discovered a madhouse as well. I blamed it on the first day of hunting season, and the wives retaliating by spending a ton… Perhaps I was too hasty in my judgement… I am sooo thankful for Amazon after seeing that mess at the mall.

We saw a madhouse at our shopping malls also (enclosed and strip malls)…but I’m not sure there was much buying, as I didn’t see many shopping bags being carried! Just lots and lots of people. We headed for home!

I no longer go to the malls unless I have a purpose to be there – shopping for something specific. And since I have no extra money, I guess that’s why I’m not going. Holiday season or not, I find going to stores when I can’t spend money depressing. I’ve long since thought if we could completely obliterate the holiday marketing, our economy would be much better off. But what do I know? 😉

I had a rare kid-free day shopping yesterday (an attempt to take advantage of a 30% gap coupon) and in J.Jill I heard the Jimmy Buffet Hawaiian Christmas song. Sadly, I was half-undressed so I couldn’t run out immediately.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

