mermaids

Like Riding a Bicycle

Posted on: 25 November, 08

Just in case you thought I forgot how to sew:

I made this dress for the art teacher’s baby months ago.  I had not posted a photo because, technically, it was not finished.  All it needed was some little snaps on the inside and the bow sewn on the outside.  Five minutes.  Why did I procrastinate so long?  Today was the art teacher’s last day before her maternity leave.  Nothing gets me moving like a deadline hanging over my head, the sword of Damocles.  This morning, I sewed on the last little bits. 

The pattern is Design #9 from the 06/07 issue of Ottobre Design.  It is a great pattern for any season.  A light cotton fabric would be perfect for summer.  It would be cozy for winter in a snuggly fabric,with a long sleeve tee and leggings. 

Anyone recognize the fabric?  I could never bear to simply throw away a 1/2 yard of fabric.  Baby clothes are the perfect use for the remnants of other projects. 

3 Responses to "Like Riding a Bicycle"

It’s adorable – I’m sure she’s going to love it! The dots on the inside really add that last detail! šŸ™‚

Teri, perfect choice. I used this pattern all the time for Olivia. It is so easy to put on. I loved having a dress to put on over a dirty onesie. I could take her anywhere and she always looked perfect. Great dress.

Teri, this is beautiful. I love this pattern, too, have made it twice already.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

