mermaids

Making a List

Posted on: 26 November, 08

My house was a disaster.  I will be on a long term sub assignment in December.  My surgery is December 19th.  I made a list of everything that needed to be cleaned.  Hoping to cash in on their competitive side, I told the boys who ever crossed off the most items from the list would win a prize.  Of course, there really was no prize.  The only snag in my plan was forgetting that the boys both had papers to write for school.  (Why do teachers assign papers over holiday weekends?!?!  grrr)  Since I really wanted them to finish the papers, I told them I would start the list while they started homework.  I took a few breaks to do some proof reading and editing.  They took a few breaks to clean up some their clutter stuff.  By mid afternoon, papers were finished and everything was crossed off my list.  Perhaps the house was not as disastrous as I thought.

The list really diffused some of the whining that normally accompanies major clean up days.  We could each pick which tasks we wanted to do.  I was not the one giving orders all day.  Instead of being overwhelmed by everything that needed to be done, I focused on one task at a time.  There was great satisfaction in crossing items off the list.  Even my sewing room got a little tidying up.  It is already for a new project.  I plan to spend quite of bit time in there this weekend. 

1 Response to "Making a List"

Well that sounds sweet. I cannot wait until my kids are old enough to convince, even bribe. My son tends to play in each room that is clean, and I have to start all over again by the end of the night. LOL. However, timeouts, no tv are finally making progress, and my 5-yr old is beginning to learn that cleaning up is no fun.
My nightly routine consists of cleaning up clutter/stuff in at least four rooms.
Well, I cannot wait to see what you whip up this holiday weekend! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

