mermaids

Polls are Still Open

Posted on: 30 November, 08

If you have not weighed in on my jacket quandary yet, there is still time to cast your vote.  The comments thus far have given me quite a bit think about. 

I did not have a chance to even look at the pattern today.  There was the ever present mountain of laundry.  J had an English paper to finish up.  He was using my computer so I did not want to distract him by rattling around in the sewing room.  Then he asked me to drive him to library to stock up on reading material.  It seems every teen in the town had the same idea.  All of that “catching up with friends” dramatically increased our quick trip to the library.  I did not mind because I have not seen some of this students since they left middle school.  The rest of the day was spent entertaining the in-laws. 

This evening needs to be devoted to looking over my lesson plans for the week.  I am covering the art teacher’s maternity leave for a bit.  The school hired a young woman for the position, but she does not graduate until mid December.  With my surgery, I knew I could not take the position for the rest of the year.  This sort of worked out for everyone.  I will teach until right before my surgery on the 19th, the newly graduated girl will take over.  She is very sweet, but seems oh so very young to me.  🙂  I have promised to check in with her frequently to ease the transition.  Sooooo, since this is not a just “sub for one day” job, I need to plan what we will be doing, make sure we have the necessary materials, etc. 

I am looking forward to being more of “real” teacher for a bit.  It will totally cut into my sewing time, but just think of all the fabric I can buy with that fat paycheck.  🙂  In January, I should be able to make up for lost time.  Because I will have lots of physical therapy appointments, I won’t be able to work very much.  I also suspect my knee will not be up for standing all day either. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

