mermaids

D is for……

Posted on: 17 December, 08

Little Miss posted a chain meme on her blog recently.  It seemed like just the little distraction I needed.  Here are the directions she posted:

You leave a comment on this post, and I’ll assign you a letter. You write about ten things you love that begin with your assigned letter, and post it at your place. When people comment on your list, you give them a letter, and the chain continues on and on.

You can leave a comment and not be assigned a letter if you want. Just let me know if you want a letter to keep this going.

 

She gave me “D” for distraction.  These are in no particular order.

1.  Dachshunds –   How can one not smile when looking at these oddly constructed creatures?  I love to watch them run.  Those little legs skittering along fiercely.  It helps that I have known some very smart and sweet dachshunds in my life. 

2. Driving really fast – Since becoming a mom, I have stopped this guilty pleasure.  When we lived in California,  I had a Toyota MR2 that just begged to zoom whenever there was an open freeway.  With children, I need to set a good example and avoid being maimed or killed in a car accident.  It is a dream of mine to go to a driving school for race car drivers.  120 on an open road….bliss.

3. DVR – It is a little unhealthy how much I love our DVR.  I love it so much that we have two.  One for the family and one in my sewing room.  Watching live TV is now painful. 

4. Dessert – Need I say any more on that particular topic? 

5. Dabbling – I love trying out new crafts.  Sewing will always be my pain passion, but experimenting is fun.  I definitely enjoy reading about different crafts to understand the process.

6.  Dinner conversations – The conversations at our dinner table are always unpredictable.  We never seem to run out of topics.  The conversations meander freely and any subject is fair game. 

7.  Drawing – I cannot draw very well, but I love to watch someone who is talented.  I love watching the image emerge from the blank paper.  How do they know just where to put a line, just how much to curve the line?  It never ceases to amaze me to see a really good drawing. 

8.  Designing – Again, I am not very good at this, but I appreciate those who are.  I love to see someone take the ordinary and make it into something new.  I love a design that is both functional and pleasing to the eye. 

9.  Dishwashers – Long ago, my boys were forced to take assumed ownership of the dishwasher.  There are seldom stacks of dirty dishes in the sink because they are so good about putting dishes directly into the dishwasher.  If the dishwasher has clean dishes, they put them away.  Without. Being. Asked.  It may sound like a little thing, but I love that dealing with dishwasher is not my job.

10.  Doing – I hate been idle.  I need to always be doing something.  When I watch TV, I usually read, fold laundry, do a crossword puzzle.  Travel is the worst.  Motion sickness prevents me from reading or doing needlework.  It is torture.  Listening to music only helps a little.  I have enough projects planned to last several lifetimes.  Being bored is not an option.  This is where that dabbling thing comes in handy.  There  is always something I want to do. 

If you want to play along, leave a comment and I will send you a letter.  This might be a good little jumpstart for those of you with neglected blogs.  Hint, hint.  🙂

8 Responses to "D is for……"

OK – count me in. Wish I could get DD to assume ownership of the dishwasher. I got the DH to own the vacuum and sometimes the washing machine (scary), so this one more thing would mean more time for me!

Sounds fun! Count me in.

I don’t have a blog so you can’t assign me a letter. It was fun, however, to read all your “Ds”. My youngest son is a fantastic artist. I think from the day he was born he was driven to draw! We’ve shown some of his drawings to comic artists and general artists and they are all amazed at his talent. I think I just unashamedly turned this reply into a bragging review of my son….sorry. My boys also empty the dishwasher…such a nice treat! I haven’t taught them well enough to LOAD the dishwasher but we’ll get there.

Love the DVR. Aren’t they the best thing ever? Live TV and commercials – just torture anymore. Have you heard of Sling Box? My brother just got one and is going to try to get one for me. It lets you watch your TV or DVR from *anywhere*. How cool is that?

Love all of your list.

Now how can I not leave a comment. I always leave a comment. I love your 10# Doing. I am the same way. Sitting down and watching tv always means my hands have to stay busy. I either sew, knit, draw, blog or iron. I always drive, so there is never a problem there. I got my license in Germany, and was in outside sales for 8 years, so I am a pretty good driver, and cannot stand to let my husband drive. The kids prefer it too!

I am all about #10 too! The other day DS said, Mom, we read a story today in Language Arts that was just like you. It was about “do-ers” and “be-ers”. I’m a “do-er’ because I’m always doing something!

I’d love to play along when you are back to your computer – hope the knee is ok!

Sounds like fun, please count me in too.

[…] is for ? 21 12 2008 Teri at Mermaids had a meme she was continuing, and I signed up.  The rules are as follows: You leave a comment on […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

