mermaids

Sewing Lessons

Posted on: 10 January, 09

Guess who called me?  Captain Sharp!  He wanted help on a sewing project while he was in town for winter break.  One of his Christmas presents was a sewing machine.  πŸ™‚  He wanted to make a gift for a friend but could not understand the pattern directions.  The directions were rather dreadful.  We could have just sewn it “my way” without looking at the directions, but I felt it was important to help him learn how to decipher the directions.  We spent the afternoon sewing a fully lined vest.  He selected a silk brocade with a satin lining.  I think his friend will be very pleased.   Captain Sharp was definitely pleased with his work.  Sorry, I did not get a photo.  Hubksi and the boys were waiting (impatiently) for Sharp and I to finish so we could go out for dinner. 

Does anyone else think it is weird that my sewing buddy is a 20 year old guy? 

9 Responses to "Sewing Lessons"

Well, I am just envious because you actually have one!

Definitely unusual, but not weird. Sewing buddies are fun! I’m sure he went away very happy with the afternoon’s work.

Not wierd at all, considering how we are trying to raise our children now. I actually think we should be grateful for the growing market.

I think it’s pretty cool!

I don’t think it’s weird. I think it’s awesome that you are willing to help him and more importantly that he is willing to listen and learn. That’s amazing! g

Not weird… fun for you and very lucky for him. And hey, he was pretty cute too as I recall!

LOL – what a funny story! In my opinion a sewing buddy is a sewing body – nothing strange about age, sex, colour, or anything else. I just wish I had one in real life – living near me. πŸ™‚

I think it’s great. What a good teacher you are!

Yeah, kind of weird, but kind of cool. Just kidding—I think it’s great! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

