mermaids

A Quickie

Posted on: 12 February, 09

This will be a quick post about a quick project.  It is not even really a “project.”  It is more like a “project-ette.”  This took minutes to sew, but has been so incredibly useful.  I carry this pink notebook almost everywhere I go.  It has my doodles and notes and whatnot.  But like the book about giving a mouse a cookie, if you give me a notebook, I am going to want a pen…and a pencil.  This little pocket is positively brilliant.  I can’t take credit for the idea.  When I saw these photos, I immediately grabbed some fabric. 

Here is what it looks like on the inside:

Had I not been so impatient to finish, I would have altered the instructions to enclose the elastic. 

If one found the correct width, ribbon could be substituted for fabric.  These would make fabulous little teacher gifts.  I say this because every teacher at school who has seen mine has commented on how much he/she would like one.  It would also be handy for art students to keep a pencil with their sketch book.

9 Responses to "A Quickie"

Ohhh, I want one too! I’ll have to add that to my list of things to make. Looks wonderful Teri.

Excellent idea – might just have to make a few of those!! I think it would be better as-is though (ie without enclosing the elastic) – as that way it would fit properly on different sizes of notebook – I am thinking that if you encased it the fabric would bunch up on smaller books and prevent the book from closing properly?

It’s brilliant, Teri! I’m always going through everything around me trying to find a pen – this solution is useful and pretty at the same time! 🙂

I love your pen holder. I think I may have a scrap or two of fabric lying about. I’ll have to search. ;->

Since you love pens and pencils and your Blackberry, I have to share this with you:

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/752501/Paper-Mate-PhD-Multi-Writing-Instruments/

(It’s the PhD pen, in case you can’t get the link to work)

I love mine! I have one in my purse, and one by my piano, where I mostly use the stylus as a pointer during lessons. Someday, I’m going to replace my Palm, and then I’ll use it as a stylus again–g–.

Thanks for the inspiration. These would be great teacher gifts. You could make one long enough to go around a standard gradebook. Hmmm. . .

What a great idea. I have to bookmark this.

Love it! And I bet the teachers on your gift list would too. 🙂

Love the pen/pencil holder! I must make some. Tomorrow. I’ll probably make several and put away in my gift chest. You never know when you need a gift in a hurry.

Thank you

What a great idea!

Wow. That’s amazingly simple, elegant, and ingenious! I wish I could find my Moleskine – I guess it’s time to give up and buy a new one.

I really need this pocket thing, too, because I use graphite stick to sketch and they are always breaking!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

