mermaids

Don’t Sweat It

Posted on: 22 February, 09

With physical therapy two or three times a week, I need more “work out” wear.  I hate big, baggy sweats, but I need pants big enough to fit over my knee brace.  Design #29 from the 01/09 issue of Ottobre Design is fabulous.  I lowered the waist line a bit and added a little pocket for my phone.  No, I do not have my phone in my pocket when I am exercising, but the pocket is handy for carrying my phone when I am hanging out at home.  The fabric is a super warm stretch “performance” fabric from Malden Mills.  The exact name escapes my memory because this fabric has been aging in the closet for a long time.  It is soft and fleecy on the inside, but the outside is a smooth knit.  The fit is terrific and I plan to make this pattern several more times.  It makes a comfortable knit pant without looking sloppy.  I also have a pair in aubergine.  My physical therapist asked where I bought them because she liked the style and fit so much.  

11 Responses to "Don’t Sweat It"

Teri–the pants look great. I’d like to see a picture of the full length, waistband to hem, if it’s no trouble. 🙂

I love it. I live in sweatpants and yogapants. Unlike my mother who wears really nice pants all day, I cannot deal with toddler and clean the house in my good wool pants. I need to look at that pattern. Oh darn, I forgot what size you were. No way. I am a size 36/38.
This pattern looks great on you, and the material looks simply divine.

I am not sure how people clean the house while dressed nicely. Aside from getting my nice clothes dirty, I need to be able to move easily while I clean.

love the pants so please tell me how I can get a copy of that magazine! Nothing like it here and haven’t found info so far that didn’t include the childrens mags, which I don’t need or want!
Thanks!

I have some good news and some bad news. First the good news. Here is the link to the women’s version of Ottobre: http://www.ottobrewoman.com/ Now for the bad… this particular pattern is from the children’s issue. I am small enough that I fit in either the smallest women’s size or the larger children’s sizes. However, there are lots and lots of lovely things in the women’s issues.

These totally rock. I love the pocket. I’ll have to take another look at this pattern for myself!

They look great, and very comfy!

Ooooh Teri…these look great…comfy yet stylish!

Great pants, Teri – yoga pants are on my to-do list….just as soon as I get the hang of stretchy fabric 🙂

Come check out my blog, there’s an award for you.

[…] those who missed it the first time, I used Design #29 from the 01/09 issue of Ottobre Design.  It is a children’s issue, so the […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

