mermaids

Jumping Ship?

Posted on: 15 March, 09

Thanks to Jeannine, I am considering moving my blog over the Blogger.  WordPress has been good to me, but look at the themes I could have with Blogger: 

Ok, it is more than just the Hello Kitty.  Blogger offers other features that appeal to me.  There are also more tools to post from Blackberry to Blogger.  WordPress does not play well with the rest of the web.  I fully admit the problem may be my lack of technical skills.  Even if that is the case, I need something very user friendly.  The big, big downside is that I would not be able to import all of my posts from WordPress.

Donโ€™t worry.  I wonโ€™t move without lots of notice and will definitely leave a forward address. 

I did a little doll sewing today.  Those tiny seams are a challenge, but the results are so cute.  When the whole outfit is done, I will post photos.  My sewing time was cut short by having to drive C all over town to find some things for school.  I am not sure why the office supply stores think we only buy school supplies in August. 

3 Responses to "Jumping Ship?"

You could so customize your blog like that at WordPress. You just need the CSS upgrade ($15 per year) and I can give you the code to put in to do that. Easy peasy.

I am only a WordPress fan because it’s open source and independent – Blogger is by Google and I like to support the indies.

This article here also shows how you can post to your blog from email (aka your blackberry) http://codex.wordpress.org/Blog_by_Email

Puhleeze, don’t jump ship! But of course, if you do, I will still follow you…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Reply to Little Miss: I had to giggle. When I read the word “code,” my brain froze. Yes, I could probably figure it out, but I don’t want to. You see, once I start dabbling in something like that, then I have to learn everything. I will get curious and want to do more and more. It is a slippery slope. ๐Ÿ™‚ I very much appreciate your offer to help. Be careful what you offer because then I would be bugging you constantly about how to do more and more.

If I had an account through the .org side of WordPress, I could post by email from my Blackberry. I am currently using a third party app, Shozu, which works okay, but quite limited. Blogger has a mobile version of their site.

I would also need a good name for my new blog. Mermaids is taken, not that I am surprised. Inertia is in favor of staying with WordPress.

Really? I love WordPress! I find there are so many opportunities to customize it just the way you want to. But then again, I’m not really a Hello Kitty person, I don’t have a Blackberry, and I tried moving once, and I’m definitely not doing that again any time soon! ๐Ÿ™‚ However, if you do move, I’ll come along as the first! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have to say I love Blogger, and I am an enormous fan of Google. I love their browser Google Chrome too.

If there was one complaint I would have is the posting of pictures. All the pictures posted end up in the beginning of your post and you have to drag them to their destination. However, other then that, I love it. So many free themes, and you are right, no codes to learn, no fooling with all kinds of technical stuff.

In the end, it does not really matter where you go, as long as we can follow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

