mermaids

Your Cheatin’ Heart

Posted on: 16 March, 09

My love for Ottobre Designs is no secret, however, there is another line of pattern vying for my affections.  When Simplicity announced a line of patterns “inspired” by Project Runway, I had to look because anything remotely related to Tim Gunn gets my attention.  Many of the designs are adorable.  Well, this is the third pattern I have tried from this line and I am swayed.  The fit is fantastic.  The pieces went together beautifully.  The directions could be a little confusing for a novice.  The yardage requirements are confusing and grossly overestimated.  Nonetheless, the jacket went together easily. 

The pattern is Simplicity 2728.  The fabric is odd, nubby woven that Hubski brought back from a trip.  It does not photograph well.  Sorry!  This is one those fabrics that Hubski described as “hard to describe, interesting… you might not like it, but I’ll get it anyway because it is so weird.”  The fabric is actually kind of cool in person.  I am not crazy about the buttons.  They will be replaced as soon as I have time to go to the fabric store. 

There are some nice details to this pattern.  The jacket is fully lined.  The under collar and upper collar are two separate pattern pieces.  The under collar is cut slightly smaller than the upper collar.  This is called “favoring,” and causes the upper collar to pull under just slightly.  This tailoring technique is not usually found in commercial patterns, but yields great results.  The curved hem in back matched up perfectly.  I think it is a cute detail that really adds to the jacket.

I plan to make the short sleeve version with the asymmetrical collar from a linen.  When the weather warms up a bit, I will wear this jacket with white jeans.  It is light enough to wear for a few more weeks, especially if the school turns on the air conditioners soon… like they always do.  🙂

 

 

5 Responses to "Your Cheatin’ Heart"

Wow….what a great jacket! I love it!

I haven’t bought a simplicity pattern in years…but I am definitely going to get THIS one!

Sweet jacket! I keep hearing about the Project Runway collection. I’m going to buy a couple because I’ve seen some nice pieces on these blogs.

Thank you for the review.

Fabulous jacket!

Great looking jacket. I think the nubby fabric and the style are a excellent combination.

I love it. I love the cut and the fabric. Great work Teri. It looks comfy casual and dressy all in one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

