mermaids

Touch of Asia

Posted on: 28 March, 09

Josie is extremely happy with this dress.  The fabric is a knit from the bottom of my scrap basket.  The wrap bodice was definitely inspired by all of the Ottobre Design wrap style tops.  The fabric had a bit of an Asian flair, so I added the black band to suggest an obi.  Drafting this pattern was so much fun.  I have some ideas for a few variations. 

I would love to take a class on pattern drafting.  Being able to create the puzzle pieces that make a garment is my favorite part of sewing.  I love the design part of the process. 

7 Responses to "Touch of Asia"

So glad Josie is happy 😉 Beautiful fabric placement on this dress! You’re certainly getting lots of practice drafting patterns, I’d love to do a pattern drafting course sometime too.
All the best
Linda
http://sewlinda.blogspot.com

Lovely looking dress. Are you tempted to make one for yourself too?

As to pattern drafting. Have you read any Winifred Aldrich books? Your local library may have a copy. I find them to be very good, and I know they are often used as the text book in pattern drafting courses.

Reply to Fiona: Yes, I would definitely wear this dress. Wish I had more of the fabric to make one for myself. I would love to get my hands on the Winifred Aldrich books, my local library is lame. They don’t have it and can’t get it. Such is life in a small town…

This is great — I love the way you managed placement of the fabric design — pretty slick job for working with scraps!

This looks great and I like it better than the AG clothes from the catalog. I don’t think they have anything quite this cute. I may have to start working on some clothes for my daughter’s dolls when I’m not doing Ottobre patterns for her!

Josie has a better wardrobe than mine!

I’m impressed! I just love looking at AG doll clothes. This is so nice – I think ‘Felicity’ wants one too!

-Terry

So cute! Isn’t it amazing how you can make AG clothes out of the tiniest of scraps.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

