mermaids

The Laws of Harmony

Posted on: 29 March, 09

image

The Laws of Harmony by Judith Ryan Hendricks

 

At last!  A good book!  I was starting to wonder if I really liked reading anymore because so many of my recent reads have been underwhelming. 

The Laws of Harmony was sent to me as part of the Early Reviewers program.  I don’t remember requesting this particular title, but I am glad it showed up on my doorstep.  Sunny was raised on a commune in the 1960’s.  She attempts to separate herself from that chaotic lifestyle, but it seems to be a part of her DNA.  After the tragic loss of her boyfriend, she sells all of her possessions and tries to start a new life on San Miguel Island.  Of course, the past has a way of following, no matter how hard you try to hide. 

Hendricks writing style simply drew me in.  It was rather fortuitous that I needed to spend most of the weekend with my knee iced and elevated.  It gave me a good excuse to read this book in a day.  The story just flows, lovely and smooth.  There were no weird time shifts, no characters popping in and out without reason.  There were no ridiculously long and detailed descriptions of the setting. 

The ending was not neat and tidy.  Lots of details were left to the reader’s imagination.  Normally, that can be an unfulfilling way to end a book.  However, Hendricks managed to do it in a way that was satisfying.  You can sort of guess how things will work out for Sunny.  It felt like Hendricks was saying, “I don’t need to spell it all out because the reader is smart of enough to figure it out.”  By the end of the story, you know Sunny well enough to what she do next. 

Instead of giving stars for ratings, maybe I should give spools of thread.  Or ice packs, for how many ice packs I am willing to sit through to keep reading the book. 

2 Responses to "The Laws of Harmony"

This sounds like a good book. Will request it. I just requested another book that a friend recommended titled “Sarah’s Key” author Tatiana de Rosnay. I’ve not read it yet to say whether it’s good myself or not.

Glad you found a read you could enjoy! I sometimes feel it would be more accurate to call myself a chronic REreader. . .I get fed up finding new books and end up returning to my old favorites.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

