mermaids

Ramblings of an Exhausted Woman

Posted on: 2 April, 09

Can you imagine me really giving up sewing?  As if.  :)  However, yesterday was one of those when I just wanted to runaway to deserted island, even if it meant leaving my machines behind.  Once I thought a little more of what life would be like without my machines, I got over it.  The three hour meeting after school did nothing for my mental health.  It has been a crazy week and spring break cannot come fast enough.  C missed three days of school last, which meant lots of make up work this week.  Since tomorrow is the end of the grading period, all of his work has to be handed in by tomorrow.  The tests he missed had to made up after school, but he also had play rehearsal every day.  Ack!  The good news is spring break starts tomorrow at 3:10 p.m.  Ok, for J, it starts at 3:50 p.m., but you get the idea. 

I have not touched my machines all week.  I worked on a pattern a little bit.  Moving back to real people clothes, instead of doll clothes.  While sitting in meetings, I did some sketching and planning.  I need to find a way to organize the doll patterns that I draft.  I have lots of ideas for variations on the little Asian inspired dress.  Those need to be recorded somewhere so I don’t forget them.  Hmmm, sounds like a good excuse to buy a pretty sketch book. 

We decided to not travel for spring break this year.  Such a wise decision.  The boys and I are exhausted.  A week of doing nothing in particular sounds heavenly.  Once we get back to school, it will be full steam ahead until the end of the year.  The state has decided we need to more testing this year.  It will not affect my boys too much, but it will mean many more days of testing for me.  However, I shall not think about any of that next week.  During spring break, I will sewing, read, catch up on my DVR list, and enjoy hanging out with my boys.  I will do as little work as humanly possible. 

3 Responses to "Ramblings of an Exhausted Woman"

Hurrah for Spring Break! Mine starts tomorrow, too!

Good for you, deciding to stay home! Sew sew sew! I, myself, keep hinting to DH and DS that they should go camping or “somewhere” (anywhere) and I would be happy to pack their bags! At least next week I can just get up and get myself out of the house earlier, before they wake up! and then I won’t have to stay at work quite so late each evening!

I cannot believe it’s spring break already. This year is flying by! Enjoy your at home vacation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

