mermaids

Amigurumi

Posted on: 5 April, 09

Amigurumi is a style of Japanese crochet to make small stuffed animals.  Ami is Japanese for crochet and gurumi means stuffed doll.  I checked out the book Creepy Cute Crochet from the local library.  I love these adorable little creatures and need something to do when I am stuck icing/elevating my knee.

image

The book does a decent job of explaining the process, but I would not recommend it for someone who is totally new to crochet.  I had to fill in some blanks on my own.  Having read quite a few online tutorials helped quite a bit.  Working on such a small scale was the biggest challenge.

Because I always do things without planning, I did not have the right color yarn for any of the projects in the book.  That did not bother me because I am not one to follow directions anyway.  So, I grabbed some yarn and started to play.  This was the result:

ami monster

It has little wings.  I don’t know why.  I cannot explain the hair either.  These are fun.  More of these little monsters will probably show up.  I just might have to start a yarn stash now.

Tags:

4 Responses to "Amigurumi"

I haven’t made these little creatures, though I have made larger animals. gourmetcrochet.com has a lot of these. I particularly like the dinosaurs.

Great idea! Very cute little animal.

too cute!!!! I might have to pull my crochet hooks out of retirement and give this a try. 🙂

too cute!
did you give up on knitting socks?

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

