mermaids

Vogue for Spring 2009

Posted on: 7 April, 09

The new Vogue patterns are out for the spring season.  Ruffles seem to be a big thing.  I will pass on this particular trend.  To me, ruffles equal young.  At a certain point, dressing “young” just makes a woman look older, like she is trying to hard to prove she is still “hip and with it.”  Of course, there are exceptions, but it is a risky move. 

image

 

 

I love this dress, V1108.  It has that classic vibe of the late 50’s and early 60’s.  The color is fabulous.  I wish I had an event for this dress.  This pattern would be stunning in some of the silks Hubski bought for me in Asia. 

 

 

 

 

image

 

 

V1109 is an interesting use of striped fabric.  This is one that I would like to see made up in real life to see how it actually fits.  This is a Sandra Betzina design.  I have not been impressed with the fit of her patterns so I am reluctant to try it.  I might try to hack something similar, using Ottobre as a starting point. 

 

 

 

image

 

 

There are quite a few “artsy” designs.  I am all for pushing the envelope and trying something new.  However, the design must still be flattering to the body.  I can create a garment with lots of crazy angles, but then you would be looking at the garment and not me.  These pants draw the eye to the pants, not the person’s face. 

 

 

 

image

 

 

The neckline on this dress is divine.  It would be perfect if you had a really stunning necklace you wanted to show off.  The pattern comes in a size 4, so I am thinking about it.  I do not have a “stunning necklace” nor any place to wear it, but I am still thinking about it.  I love, love, love all of those seams.

 

 

 

There is a pattern for an honest to goodness caftan.  Tent.  A sheet with two seams sewn up the side.  It looks wickedly comfortable, but I hope people will not begin wearing this in public.  Several of the dresses and tops are frightfully close to the caftan silhouette.  Empire waist with lots of gathers or straight side seams are all over the place.  This silhouette will hide a multitude of sins, but I don’t want to look like I am hiding a multitude of sins. 

2 Responses to "Vogue for Spring 2009"

The dresses would be good for my mother-of-the-bride dress. Especially the first one, what do you think?

Reply to Lori: I think it was be a fantastic mother of the bride dress! You have a fabulous figure for this pattern….long and lean. It is such an elegant design, perfect for a wedding. A firm silk would be stunning. Please make it. I want someone I know to wear this dress. 🙂

I love V8576. I’m not sure I’m up to the fitting challenge. I love all the seams and the neckline.
I also agree that Lori would look wonderful in the first one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

