mermaids

Totally Random

Posted on: 10 April, 09

….and now for something totally random….

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is one of my favorite children’s books.  I love the illustrations in all of Eric Carle’s books.  This cake looks deceptively simple, like “Hey, I could make that too.  It’s just cupcakes.”  Okay, maybe *you* could make it, but I could never get all those great swirly shades of green just right.

Directions for the cake are here.

Of course, there is also this cake:

If J would actually eat cake, I would consider making this for him.  If he did not look exactly me, I would swear we brought the wrong baby home from the hospital because I do not understand how a son of mine can not like cake.

Directions for the squid are here.

3 Responses to "Totally Random"

I love the Hungry Caterpillar cake! Have you seen the Eric Carle fabrics? I’ve seen both the caterpillar and Brown Bear, Brown Bear at our local quilt shop. In fact, I just posted this morning about my mom’s latest quilt using the Brown Bear fabrics.

Hey Teri – wonderful cakes you found there. And they made me think, that you would love one of my favourite places for a great laugh – http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/. It’s not just the pictures – if they were the only thing there, it wouldn’t be half the blog. No, it’s the way she describes them – give it a chance, and you can go there for a never failing laugh when you need one! 🙂 I also want to thank you so much for your always sweet and present comments on my blog – it means more than you know! Thanks!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar cake is a great idea for my son’s birthday. Do you think it’s a bit young for an 11 yo 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

