mermaids

Tim Would be Proud

Posted on: 19 April, 09

These Project Runway patterns by Simplicity continue to impress me.  I was a little worried that 2733 would look to maternity.  Correct me if I am wrong, but this does not look maternity.  It looks even less so in person because it fits very close to the body.  Unless you are using a very stretchy fabric, you might consider going up a size.  With another fabric, this top would have been too small.  Gasp, I know.  “Too small” does not happen very often for me. 

In addition to the cross over front, I was drawn to the pattern because of the pockets, aka crackberry carrier.  Pockets in a knit top seemed like a risky proposition, but they totally work with this pattern.  I almost eliminated some of the gathers in the center front, fearing that maternity look.  I am so glad I did not because they make they pockets fall so beautifully. 

My fabric is a thin jersey knit with some lycra.  Due to all the gathers, I recommend avoiding heavier fabrics.  You want something thin that will drape nicely.  Something with a shimmer would be gorgeous for a dressy event. 

There is another view with a contrasting panel instead of the cross over detail.  Several sleeve variations are also offered.  I will definitely make another version of this top. 

20 Responses to "Tim Would be Proud"

What a lovely top. Did you get all your hair cut off? g

Pretty! You sure did “make it work!”

I really like that top. I will have to add it to my pattern wish list. Is the top fully faced? How does that work?

Gorgeous! That top looks fabulous on you! No, not maternity at all!

Fantastic top.

Wow! That is really really cute and I love the color. I just got some of the Project Runway patterns and now I want to try one!

Fabulous top and it looks wonderful on you. No maternity look to it. The cross-over is so stylish. Enjoy wearing it.

Wow Teri…that IS a great top !
I LOVE it!
I am going to treat myself and get that pattern today!

Great looking top! I love that it has pockets and the gathers are just perfect.

I don’t know about Tim but I think it’s very cute. Looks great on you.

This is so chic! The fit looks great – very flattering. Definitely NOT a maternity top.

Oh my goodness. That is gorgeous! I seems like it would be forgiving for my not-shrinking-fast-enough waistline, too. hmmmmm.

beautiful work. This red looks beautiful with your skin tone!

Teri, I must say that it looks great on you. I especially love the color and the fabric you chose. Very nice. Love the drapes up front. What a great top for a WOMAN! Hides that baby belly and yet conforms to the body so well. Love it, really do.

What a gorgeous top! The color is fantastic!

I love the top on you. Color is great for you.

Not sure how it would look on my size gazonga breasts though. Not sure that’s where I want to draw everyone’s attention unless I’m clueless and that’s where everyone’s looking anyway. 😉

That really is a lovely looking top, well done!

[…] were also a few queries about the Project Runway top.  The construction on this top is interesting.  The bodice starts with a scoop next […]

Gorgeous top – makes me want one!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

